AMPAS announces Nicholl winners


At least seven screenwriters won't have to worry about the Writers Guild strike.

They are the winners of this year's Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, announced Monday by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Winning writers were selected from 5,050 entries. Each will receive $30,000 and must complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year.

The annual competition, which began in 1985, is open to writers who have not sold or optioned a screenplay for more than $5,000. Past fellowship winners have included Susannah Grant, whose works include "Erin Brockovich" and "Pocahontas," and Doug Atchison, whose winning script was "Akeelah and the Bee."

This year's winners are Amy Garcia, Cecilia Contreras, Michael L. Hare, Sidney King, David Mango, Andrew Shearer and Nicholas J. Sherman.

Winners will be feted Nov. 15 at a private dinner at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.