AMPAS gives 10 scripts a Nicholl goal


Ten scripts penned by aspiring scribes have been selected as finalists in the 22nd annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting, presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Up to five writers can be selected to each receive the $30,000 fellowship.

The Academy received 5,050 scripts for this year's competition, which was open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a fellowship or prize that included a "first look" clause.

Fellows will have a year to complete a feature-length screenplay.

The script finalists are "Ball," by Julian Breece; "Amelia Earhart and the Bologna Rainbow Highway," Amy Garcia and Cecilia Contreras; "The Poker Wars," Lisa M. Gold; "The Fly Fisher," Michael Hare; "Kalona," Sidney King; "Kissing a Suicide Bombe," David Mango; "Nano," John Robert Marlow; "Queen of the Sky," Brett Nicholson; "Sweet in the Saddle," Andrew Pritzker; and "Holy Irresistible," Andrew Shearer and Nicholas J. Sherman.

Since its inception in 1985, 98 Nicholl fellows have been selected. Alumni include Ehren Kruger ("The Ring") and Jeffrey Eugenides, an inaugural-year fellow who won a Pulitzer Prize in 2003 for his novel "Middlesex."