AMPAS gives students their due


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences rewarded 12 students from nine colleges and universities Saturday night at its Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills as it handed out its 35th annual Student Academy Awards.

Presenters Jason Reitman, Caleb Deschanel, Todd Holland and academy president Sid Ganis doled out the honors, which included an honorary foreign film award to Reto Caffi of Germany for the film "On the Line."

In the narrative category, the gold medal went to Rajeev Dassani for "A Day's Work," the silver to Z. Eric Yang for "The State of Sunshine" and the bronze to Melanie McGraw for "Pitstop."

The animation winners were Nicole Mitchell, "Zoologic," gold; Tatchapon Lertwirojkul, "Simulacra," silver; and Evan Mayfield, "The Visionary," bronze.

Signaled out for their documentary work were Laura Waters Hinson, "As We Forgive," gold; J.J. Adler, "Unattached," silver; and Brian Davis, "If a Body Meet a Body," bronze.

Two prizes were awarded in the alternative category: Shih-Ting Hung took the gold for "Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant," and Phoebe Tooke collected the silver for "Circles of Confusion."

Besides trophies, the gold medal recipients received $5,000; silver were awarded $3,000; and bronze took home $2,000 each. (partialdiff)