AMPAS lays out red carpet for 115 potential members

Invitees include Aniston, Murphy

A total of 115 filmmakers and executives ranging from actress Jennifer Aniston to director Simon West have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

"These individuals are all exceptionally accomplished in their respective fields," Academy president Sid Ganis said. "We're looking forward to having them join the Academy's ranks."

The membership policies that the Academy adopted four years ago in order to slow the growth of the organization would have allowed a maximum of nearly 150 new members this year, but like the previous three years, the branch committees endorsed far fewer candidates than were proposed. Voting membership in the organization has held steady at just below 6,000 members for four years.

"The numbers are stabilizing nicely, but at the same time some interesting changes are occurring," Academy executive director Bruce Davis said. "Like the recent lists of Oscar nominees, our last few membership invitation lists have been increasingly international."

Those invited include such 2007 Oscar nominees and winners as actors Adriana Barraza, Jackie Earle Haley, Jennifer Hudson and Eddie Murphy along with director Paul Greengrass and composer Gustavo Santaolalla.

New members will be welcomed into the Academy in September during an invitation-only reception at the Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills.

A list of invitees follows.


Jennifer Aniston, Adriana Barraza, Steve Carell, Daniel Craig, Aaron Eckhart, Chiwetel Ejiofor, William Fichtner, Ryan Gosling, Jackie Earle Haley, Jennifer Hudson, Danny Huston, Eddie Murphy, Christopher Plummer, James Rebhorn, Michael Sheen, Maribel Verdu


Sharon Calahan, George Griffin, John Kahrs, Torill Kove, Marcy Page, Troy Saliba

Art director

Hugh Bateup


Sam Mercer, Lia Vollack

Casting directors

Lisa Beach, Leslee Feldman


Javier Aguirresarobe, Steve Gainer, Michael Goi, Michael Grady, Adam Kimmel, Alar Kivilo, M. David Mullen, Xavier Perez Grobet


Carter Burwell, Alexandre Desplat, Javier Navarrete, Gustavo Santaolalla


Agustin Almodovar, Bonnie Arnold, Julia Chasman, Jonathan Glickman, Daniel Goldberg, Jack Rapke, Jane Rosenthal

Production designers

Eugenio Caballero, Nathan Crowley, Nigel Phelps

Public relations

Kevin Campbell, Jason Cassidy, Frank J. Chiocchi, Sarah Greenberg, Ileen Reich, Jeff Smith, Valerie Van Galder

Costume designers

Consolata Boyle, Nancy Steiner


Peter Berg, D.J. Caruso, Antoine Fuqua, Paul Greengrass, Monte Hellman, Simon West


Steve James, Nathaniel Kahn, James Longley, Brett Morgen, Laura Poitras, Eric Simonson


Greg Foster, Judd Funk, Adam Goodman, Andrew W. Gumpert, Michael J. Lambert, Yair Landau, David Weil

Film editors

Sandra Adair, Virginia Katz, Saar Klein, Richard Pearson, Alex Rodriguez, Christopher Rouse

Live-action short films

Borja Cobeaga, Javier Fesser, Ari Sandel


John E. Jackson, David Marti, Montse Ribe, Kazuhiro Tsuji


Michael J. Benavente, Linda Folk, Jessica Gallavan, Tim Gomillion, Howard London, Steven D. Williams, Jim Wright

Visual effects

John Andrew Berton Jr., Al DiSarro, Bryan Hirota, Alan E. Lorimer, Christopher Nibley, Douglas H. Smith, Ben Snow, Eric Swenson, Jon Thum


J.J. Abrams, Michael Arndt, Guillermo Arriaga, Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, Patrick Marber, William Monahan, Peter Morgan, Billy Ray, Erin Cressida Wilson