AMPAS picks student finalists

Winners invited to week of industry-related events

Thirty-six students from 20 colleges and universities have been selected as finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 36th annual Student Academy Awards competition.

Winning filmmakers will participate in a week of industry-related and social activities, culminating in a June 13 awards ceremony.

The finalists are:

In the alternative category: Robyn Yanoukos, UCLA; Sean Conaty and John Thompson, USC; Kwibum Chung, School of Visual Arts; Jason Chen, University of the Arts.; Imran Shafi, USC.

In animation: Hamilton Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design; Paris Mavroidis, Pratt Institute; Jin Sung Choi, Academy of Art University; Max Winston, Cal Arts; Jud Henry, Brigham Young University; Joji Tsuruga and Anca Risca, School of Visual Arts; Glenn Harmon, Brigham Young University; George Smaragdis, Pratt; and Joaquin Baldwin, UCLA.

In documentary: Theo Rigby, Stanford University; Emile Bokaer and Alaa Eldin El Dajani, Stanford; Liz Chae, Columbia University; Nicholas Berger, Stanford; Lauren DeAngelis, American University; Robert Hess, Savannah College of Art and Design; Philip Leaman, University of Michigan; Cassandra Lizaire and Kelly Asmuth, Columbia; and Louis Lapat, Columbia.

In narrative: Michael Green, Florida State University; Brendan Bellomo, NYU; Jeremy Joffee, City College of New York; David Martin-Porras, UCLA; Gregg Helvey, USC; Marco Garcia, University of North Carolina; Destin Cretton, San Diego State University; Joshua Overbay, Regent University; and Antonio Mendez, Columbia.