AMPAS Tech Council Adds Four Members

Denny Clairmont, John Hora, Bob Lambert and Milt Shefter named to roster.

Denny Clairmont, John Hora, Bob Lambert and Milt Shefter have been named to AMPAS’ Science and Technology Council.

Clairmont, who is co-founder of Clairmont Camera, received the John A. Bonner Medal of Commendation in 2010 for "outstanding service and dedication in upholding the high standards of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences."

Hora is a cinematographer whose credits include Honey I Blew Up the Kid, Gremlins and Twilight Zone: The Movie.

During his more than 20 years as a senior executive of The Walt Disney Company, Lambert oversaw the development of production processes such as the "CAPS" system for feature animation, which was recognized with a Scientific and Engineering Award in 1991.

Shefter, a film preservationist and president of Miljoy Enterprises, created the Paramount Pictures Asset Protection Program. He was the project lead for the Academy reports The Digital Dilemma and the upcoming Digital Dilemma 2, due out next month.

The 2011–2012 Council co-chairs are Academy governor Bill Kroyer (Short Films and Feature Animation Branch) and George Joblove, a digital media technology executive and consultant.

The Council's other 18 members are: Peter W. Anderson, Lisa Zeno Churgin, Elizabeth Cohen, Jonathan Erland, David W. Gray, Douglas Greenfield, Jim Houston, Rob Hummel, Brad Hunt, David Inglish, Randal Kleiser, Tad Marburg, Daryn Okada, Rick Sayre, Garrett Smith and Academy governors Craig Barron, Richard Edlund and Don Hall.

comments powered by Disqus