Animation Fest nominees announced

Honorees qualify for the Oscars shorts category

ACM Siggraph revealed award nominees for its 2008 Computer Animation Festival, an official qualifying festival for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' best animated short award category.

Best in show nominees include "Bolides," Supinfocom; "Carbon Footprint," William Rockall, Jellyfish Pictures; "Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa," DreamWorks Animation; "Oktapodi," Julien Bocabeille, Francois-Xavier Chanioux, Olivier Delabarre, Thierry Marchand, Quentin Marmier, Emud Mokhberi, Gobelins l'ecole de l'image; and The Chemical Brothers' "The Salmon Dance," Framestore CFC.

Best student piece nominees are "893," Supinfocom; "Al Dente," Supinfocom; "Baerenbraut," Derek Roczen, Filmakademie Baden-Wuerttemberg, Institute of Animation, Visual Effects and Digital Postproduction; "Blind Spot," Johanna Bessiere, Nicolas Chauvelot, Olivier Clert, Cecile Dubois Herry, Yvon Jardel, Simon Rouby, Gobelins l'ecole de l'image; and "Mauvais Role," Alan Barbier, Camille Campion, Dorian Fevrier, Frederic Fourier, Frederic Lafay, Min Ma, Jean-Francois Macem, Emanuel Reperant, Jeremie Rousseau, Olivier Sicot, Supinfocom.

Jury award nominees are "Chump and Clump," Michael Herm, Stephan Sacher; "Mauvais Role; " "Oktapodi;" "Our Wonderful Nature," Tomer Eshed, HFF Potsdam; and "The Plush Life," Timothy Heath.

Nominees were chosen from more than 900 submissions from around the world.

New in 2008 is the addition of the Computer Animation Festival award presentations, where winners will be revealed during the Siggraph event. Competition and showcase screenings will be held at Nokia Theater in August.