AOL, 'Legion of Extraordinary Dancers' Named NATPE Honorees

The NATPE trade show is for the second year recognizing digital contributions to the content biz, honoring a handful of companies and personalities at its upcoming confab in Miami.

AOL, IKEA, the LXD, Control TV and Gary Vaynerchuk will be recognized as "Content Innovators" on the last day of the market Jan. 26.

The so-called Digital Luminary Awards will be handed out in partnership with Tubefilter.

NATPE president-CEO Rick Feldman said Wednesday the awards acknowledge "the innovative people and companies who serve as catalysts for the digital content revolution."

Recipients will be feted during a reception hosted by Mark Gantt of the Bannen Way at the confab's central location, the Fontainebleau Resort. The 5 pm event will also be streamed live on the NATPE website.

"The insight and leadership provided by each of the recipients is invaluable to the NATPE conference and marketplace," Feldman added.

In addition to the awards, a number of panels, workshops, case studies and master classes throughout the three-day confab will focus on the latest developments in the digital content industry.

The 2011 honorees are as follows:

Branded Entertainment Series -- Recognizing excellence in an original online video series that is funded primarily through a brand sponsor.

Honoree: ControlTV

Brand Leadership in Online Video -- Honoring a brand that has shown repeated commitment to funding original online entertainment content that is engaging and successful in reaching a core online audience.

Honoree: IKEA

Original Web Content -- Recognizing excellence in creation of an original web series that has achieved critical and financial success in the past year.

Honoree: The Legion of Extraordinary Dancers (THE LXD)

Online Video Personality -- Honoring an online video personality that has built a significant audience and continues to engage and entertain them.

Honoree: Gary Vaynerchuk (Wine Library TV) 

Market Leadership in the Digital Space -- Recognizing the commitment and investment in the creation and distribution of online content.

Honoree: AOL