Apted re-elected DGA president

Soderbergh, Cates retain positions

With talks for the Directors Guild of America's next film and TV contract to begin sometime in the next year, Michael Apted has been elected president of the 13,400-member guild for a third two-year term.

Some 129 delegates to the DGA's biennial convention, held Saturday at the guild's Sunset Boulevard headquarters, also returned several other top incumbents to their elective posts. Among those were national vp Steven Soderbergh and secretary-treasurer Gil Cates.

"I am honored to have been re-elected for a third term as president of the DGA," Apted said after winning reelection by acclamation. "The next few years will be critical to our guild and to the industry. It is my goal as president to lead our guild through upcoming negotiations and ensure that the creative and economic rights of directors and their teams are protected for years to come."

Soderbergh hailed Apted for his "passion, diligence and integrity."

Apted was first elected DGA president in June 2003, succeeding Martha Coolidge.

A film director with credits including "The World Is Not Enough," "Gorillas in the Mist," Coalminer's Daugher" and "Nell," he currently is in preproduction on ""The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader." A British native, Apted is also closely identified with a television documentary series launched with the landmark "7 Up" and followed by installments about 14 English kids at various ages, through 2005's "49 Up."

The DGA's contract covering movie and primetime directors expires in July 2008. But the guild has a tradition of starting negotiations for a new pact months ahead of time and has already named veteran TV director-producer Cates to chair its negotiating committee.

SAG's main film and TV contract also expires in July '08. A similar pact at the WGA expires in October, with negotiations on a new agreement to begin in two weeks.

All three sets of talks with the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers are expected to feature heavy emphasis on boosting compensation for the re-use of creative content over the Internet and other new-media platforms.

A complete list of officers and board members follows:

Michael Apted

National vp
Steven Soderbergh

Gilbert Cates

Assistant secretary-treasurer
Scott Berger

First vp
Paris Barclay

Second vp
William M. Brady

Third vp
Taylor Hackford

Fourth vp
Gary Donatelli

Fifth vp
Betty Thomas

Sixth vp
Max Schindler

Board members
Herb Adelman
LeVar Burton
Stephen Glanzrock
Victoria Hochberg
Jeremy Kagan
Kim Kurumada
Michael Mann
Scott L. Rindenow
Thomas Schlamme
Ed Sherin
Jesus Trevino

Associate board members
Craig Bigelow
Duncan S. Henderson
Barbara Roche
Liz Ryan
Mary Rae Thewlis

Alternate board members
Laura Belsey
Theodore Bogosian
Randal Kleiser
Rod Holcomb
Lesli Linka Glatter
Garry Marshall
Donald Petrie
Lee Shallat Chemel
John Singleton
Carl Weathers
Eames Yates
Michael Zinberg

Second alternate board members
Lee Blaine
Alan B. Curtiss
Julie Gelfand
Dennis W. Mazzocco
Kathleen McGill
Elena Santaballa