Arab Cinema Center Launching Annual Critics Awards

Arab Cinema Center - H 2017
Courtesy of Arab Cinema Center

A 26-member jury will decide the winners, with awards to be handed out during the Cannes Film Festival.

The Arab Cinema Center is launching the Critics Awards, its latest initiative to promote and support Arab cinema internationally.

The jury for the awards, planned as an annual event that will take place during the Cannes Film Festival, includes 26 members, including prominent Arab and foreign critics from 15 countries from around the world.

They will select the best Arab film productions in the following categories: best film, best director, best writer, best actress, and best actor. Egyptian film critic Ahmed Shawky is serving as manager of the Critics Awards.

Film analyst Alaa Karkouti, CEO of MAD Solutions, the company in charge of organizing the Arab Cinema Center's events, said: "The Critics Awards marks a first-time initiative that encompasses film critics from all over the world dedicated to Arab films within the strategy of Arab Cinema Center to add initiatives and events to every large-scale international film festival around the world."

He added: "This is the first new addition for Arab Cinema Center in 2017 and more is yet to come."

Nominees for the Critics Awards  will be selected based on the following criteria: Films must have premiered in international film festivals outside of the Arab world during 2016, at least one of the production companies must be Arab, and films must be feature-length films, whether fiction or documentary.

Here is the list of critics who will participate in nominating and selecting the winners for the Arab Cinema Center's Critics Awards:

Ibrahim Al Ariss | Lebanon
Ahmed Shawky | Egypt
Ossama Abdel Fattah | Egypt
E. Nina Rothe | USA, Italy
Olivier Barlet | France
Bashar Ibrahim | Palestine, UAE
Deborah Young | USA
Dragan Rubesa | Croatia
Jay Weissberg | USA
Hussam Assi | Iraq, USA, UK
Hamadi Keroum | Morocco
Khalil Demmon | Morocco
Ziad Khouzaie | Iraq, UK
Samir Farid | Egypt
Sydney Levine | USA
Tarek El Shennawi | Egypt
Abdul Sattar Naji | Kuwait
Ola Al-Sheikh | Palestine, UAE
Kais Kassem | Iraq, Sweden
Mohammed Bougalleb | Tunisia
Mohamed Rouda | Lebanon
Nabil Hadji | Algeria
Nadim Jarjoura | Lebanon
Erfan Rashid (Iraq, Italy)
Hauvick Habechian | Lebanon
Houda Ibrahim | Lebanon, France