'Refugiado' Tops Argentine Academy Awards

Courtesy of Festival de Cannes

Pablo Trapero's Oscar bid 'The Clan' took home five awards.

Diego Lerman's Refugiado was the big winner at the Sur Awards, the Argentine equivalent of the Oscars, which were announced on Tuesday night at a ceremony in Buenos Aires' Usina del Arte.

A story about a woman (Julieta Diaz) who flees from an abusive husband along with her young son, the drama won honors for best film, director, original script and editing.

Pablo Trapero's Oscar hopeful The Clan collected five awards, including one for breakthrough performance by an actor (Peter Lanzani).

Dolores Fonzi's intense performance in Santiago Mitre's Paulina, which topped this year's Critics' Week at Cannes, earned her best actress honors, while Joaquin Furriel was named best actor for Sebastian Schindel's The Boss – Anatomy of a Crime, which also snagged adapted script and makeup awards.

Matias Lucchesi's Natural Sciences, a winner at Guadalajara and Berlinale's Generation Kplus section, received the best opera prima award.

Full awards list:

Best Film
Refugiado – Diego Lerman

Best Director
Diego Lerman – Refugiado

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Joaquín Furriel – The Boss – Anatomy of a Crime

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Dolores Fonzi – Paulina

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Rafael Spregelburg – Abzurdah

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Maricel Alvarez – Mi amiga del parque

Best Original Script
Diego Lerman y María Meira – Refugiado

Best Adapted Script
Nicolás Batlle, Javier Olivera and Sebastián Schindel – The Boss – Anatomy of a Crime – based on the book by Elías Neuman

Breakthrough Performance by an Actor
Peter Lanzani – The Clan

Breakthrough Performance by an Actress
María Eugenia Suárez – Abzurdah

Best Cinematography
Julián Apezteguía – The Clan

Best Art Direction
Sebastián Orgambide – The Clan

Best Costume Design
Julio Suárez – The Clan

Best Makeup
Karina Camporino – The Boss – Anatomy of a Crime

Best Documentary
La calle de los pianistas – Mariano Nante

Best Sound Design
Vicente D'Elía – The Clan

Best Editing
Alejandro Brodersohn – Refugiado

Best Original Score
Iván Wyszogrod – Papers in the Wind

Best Opera Prima
Natural Sciences – Matías Lucchesi