Arthur Sellers to Receive WGAW's 2016 Morgan Cox Award

Courtesy of Nicol Biesek

The veteran TV writer will be honored for his service at the WGAW awards ceremony on Feb. 13.

Arthur Sellers has been tapped to receive the Writers Guild of America, West's 2016 Morgan Cox Award, in recognition of his service to the guild.

Sellers will be honored during the West Coast awards ceremony on Feb. 13 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. He served on the WGAW's board for directors from 1989-1991.

A member of the guild since 1976, Sellers' vast TV writing credits include such comedy series as Anything for Money, Max Headroom, Space Precinct, The Journey of Allen Strange, Forever Fernwood and The Famous Jett Jackson, as well as comedy/variety shows including The Richard Pryor Show, Tony Orlando and Dawn, Mel and Susan Together and Cher … and Other Fantasies. He earned an Emmy nomination of his work on 1988 animated TV special special Meet the Raisins!

Sellers' film credits include Chevy Chase comedy Modern Problems and action-thriller The Vivero Letter.

“Arthur has given countless hours of time, sat in more meetings than anyone can count, in service of improving not his own lot, but the lot of all of us — and he’s done it with intelligence, with wit, with unceasing good cheer,” WGAW president Howard A. Rodman said Tuesday in a statement. “He’s a living embodiment of generosity of spirit.”

Previous recipients of the Morgan Cox Award include George Kirgo, Del Reisman, Frank Pierson, Carl Gottlieb, Patric M. Verrone, Daniel Petrie, Jr., Thomas Cook and Jeff Melvoin.