ASC re-elects Okada to board


Daryn Okada has been re-elected president of the American Society of Cinematographers. He will serve a second one-year term.

Additionally, the ASC has named six new officers: vps Michael Goi, Richard Crudo and Owen Roizman; treasurer Victor Kemper; secretary Michael Negrin and sergeant at arms John Hora.

The new board of governors includes Caleb Deschanel, George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, William A. Fraker, Francis Kenny, Laszlo Kovacs, Isidore Mankofsky, Robert Primes, Dante Spinotti, Kees Van Oostrum and Haskell Wexler. Alternate board members are Stephen Lighthill, Matthew Leonetti, Russ Alsobrook and Sol Negrin.

Said Okada: "Our founders defined the mission for ASC in 1919, when the motion picture industry was still in its infancy. They were dedicated to providing a collegial environment, where members could share ideas and solve problems for the purpose of advancing a new art form. That remains our top priority today. Our industry is experiencing a renaissance of cinematography and postproduction technology, and the ASC has kept the new techniques focused on visual storytelling. ASC members have always been generous in spreading our knowledge gained from experience to our industry colleagues and the young of filmmakers of tomorrow."

Okada's credits include "Paparazzi" and "Just Like Heaven."

He recently wrapped principal photography for "Harold and Kumar 2" and is shooting "Baby Mama." Both films are slated for a 2008 release.