ASC nod focuses on Lassally


Oscar winner Walter Lassally will receive the 2008 American Society of Cinematographers International Achievement Award.

During a cinematography career that spanned 50 years, Lassally was involved in the evolution of the Free Cinema and British New Wave movements in collaboration with directors such as Tony Richardson, Karel Reizs and Lindsay Anderson. He has gathered more than 50 feature credits, including "Zorba the Greek," for which he won the Academy Award in 1965.

The ASC Award will be presented Jan. 26 at the 22nd annual Outstanding Achievement Awards gala at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.