American Society of Cinematographers Announces Nominees

Hugo Film Still Paramount - H 2011

Hugo Film Still Paramount - H 2011

"The Artist," "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" and "Hugo" are among the 5 films recognized.

The American Society of Cinematographers has nominated the cinematographers responsible for The Artist, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, Hugo, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and The Tree of Life for its feature film award.

The nominees are Guillaume Schiffman, The Artist; Jeff Cronenweth, Dragon; Robert Richardson, Hugo; Hoyte van Hoytema, Tinker; and Emmanuel Lubezki, Tree.

Tree's Lubezki, who has won many critics' awards this season, took home the ASC award in 2007 for Children of Men; Hugo's Richardson has earned nine previous ASC nominations; Cronenweth was nominated last year for The Social Network.

Schiffman and van Hoytema are first-time nominees. 

"These five cinematographers have created works of art that serve the story and director's vision in unique and engaging ways," ASC Awards committee chairman Richard Crudo said.

In the latest round of guild voting, Oscar hopefuls that failed to make the cut included War Horse, Midnight in Paris, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, The Descendants and The Help.

The 26th annual American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards will be held Feb. 12 at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.