Justin Bieber, Trent Reznor Pick Up ASCAP Film & TV Awards; Composer Trevor Rabin Honored


Music for the top-grossing films, the most performed television music and the top video game music of 2011 were recognized at the Beverly Hilton event on Thursday night.

Mark Isham, James Newton Howard, Howard Shore, Hans Zimmer, John Debney and Carter Burwell were among the composers honored Thursday at ASCAP's 27th Annual Film & Television Music Awards held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

During the invitation-only ceremony, Trevor Rabin was presented with  ASCAP's Henry Mancini Award. Director Jon Turteltaub, who worked with Rabin on the films National Treasure, National Treasure: Book of Secrets and The Sorcerer's Apprentice, spoke on Rabin's behalf and presented a video montage of his work.

Composers of music for the top-grossing films, the most performed television music and the top video game music of 2011 received awards at the event.

STORY: Bruce Springsteen Tapped for 2013 MusiCares Person of the Year Honor

Film awards went to Michael Giacchino, Trent Reznor, Chris Bacon, Bernie Taupin, Trevor Morris, Rupert Gregson-Williams, Justin Bieber, Deborah Lurie, John Powell, Paul Leonard-Morgan, Bret McKenzie, Henry Jackman, Siedah Garrett, Sergio Mendes, John Powell, Patrick Doyle, Lorne Balfe  and Heitor Pereira.

ASCAP composers whose combined works earned the highest number of performance credits on network, local and cable television in the category of themes and dramatic underscore for the 2011 survey year were Jack Allocco, Joel Beckerman, Grant Geissman, Matthew Gerrard, David Kurtz, James Levine, Jeff Lippencott, Walter Murphy, David Vanacore and Mark T. Williams.

PHOTOS: 'Who Shot Rock & Roll': Tupac, Elvis and Amy Winehouse Take Center Stage in Annenberg Exhibit

Among the composers who wrote the themes and underscore for the highest rated television series in 2011 were: Marc Fantini, Steffan Fantini and Scott Gordon; Trevor Morris; Mark Snow; Sean Callery and Ken Jordan; Bear McCreary; Seth MacFarlane and Walter Murphy; Sean Callery; Grant Geissman and Josh Kelley; Matthew Hawkins, Maurice "m.O" Jackson and Neil Martin; Zooey Deschanel; J.J. Abrams and Ramin Djawadi; Russ Landau and David Vanacore; Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald and Simon Cowell.

The Top Video Game Award went to Jeremy Soule, who composed the music to The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, the best-selling video game of 2011.

Ascap.com has a complete list of the night's winners