ASCAP Names Dr. Luke and Max Martin Songwriters of the Year

Kevin Winter/Getty Images

The two are responsible for hits including Katy Perry's "California Gurls" and "Teenage Dream" and Taio Cruz's "Dynamite."

Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald and Max Martin were named songwriters of the year at the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers' 28th annual Pop Music Awards on Wednesday night.

The duo tied for writing five of the most performed songs of 2010, including "California Gurls" (Katy Perry with Snoop Dogg), "Dynamite" (Taio Cruz) and "Teenage Dream" (Perry). 

Dr. Luke also won for Miley Cyrus' "Party in the USA" and "Tik Tok" by Ke$ha, who presented his award. Martin also won for "DJ Got Us Fallin' In Love" by Usher with Pitbull and "Whataya Want From Me" by Adam Lambert. Lambert presented to Martin, who made a rare appearance to accept the award.

Dr. Luke has had 20 No. 1 songs in the past five years and has received 17 ASCAP Awards, including songwriter of the year last year, while Martin previously won the award in 1999, 2000 and 2001.

Meanwhile, song of the year honors went to "Hey, Soul Sister," by Pat Monahan of Train. Monahan also collected a pop award for "If It's Love," which he co-wrote with Gregg Wattenberg.

Publisher of the year was EMI Music Publishing, which had 19 of the most performed songs of 2010.

Special awards were presented to rock icon Rod Stewart, who was honored with the ASCAP Founders Award; Band of Horses, who received ASCAP's Vanguard Award; and Randy Bachman, who was presented with the ASCAP Global Impact Award. 

The ceremony took place at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel. A complete list of winners can be found at