Asia Pacific Screen Awards jury set


SYDNEY -- Judges from countries as far flung as the U.K., Iran and China will sit on the jury for November's inaugural Asia Pacific Screen Awards, organizers said Friday.

Indian actress and jury president Shabana Azmi will be joined on the jury by Pusan International Film Festival founding director Kim Dong-ho of Korea, Iranian director Jafar Panahi, U.K. producer Nik Powell and Chinese filmmaker Tian Zhuangzhuang.

They will meet on the Gold Coast, Australia, beginning Nov. 5 to determine which films among the 34 nominated in nine categories will take home awards. The awards ceremony is set to take place Nov. 13.

The nominations, announced Oct. 2, were led by "Caramel" (Lebanon); "Night Bus" (Iran); "Takva: A Man's Fear of God" (Turkey); and "Secret Sunshine" (Korea), all of which received three nominations.

"(The) distinguished, highly credentialed jury ... attests to the seriousness of the decision-making process," APSA chairman Des Power said. "Many outstanding films have been nominated, so the task is not an easy one. I am deeply grateful to all the jury members."

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards -- a partnership of the Queensland State government, CNN International, UNESCO and the International Federation of Film Producers Associations -- are designed to showcase films from the region that best reflect their cultural origins and cinematic excellence.