ATAS board elects Shaffner as chairman


CORRECTED 4:32 p.m. PT Nov. 15, 2007

John Shaffner has been elected chairman of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences by its board of governors, replacing outgoing chairman Dick Askin.

Shaffner is a six-time Emmy-winning production designer whose credits include "Friends," "The Drew Carey Show" and "The Ellen DeGeneres Show" and numerous series and specials, including the Primetime Emmy Awards, the ESPY Awards, the Miss Universe pageant and halftime shows at the Super Bowl.

Shaffner had been the organization's vice chairman since 2003 and before that had been second vice chair. Askin served two two-year terms as chairman starting in 2003.

Meanwhile, the ATAS board also has elected its other officers for 2008. Nancy Bradley Wiard, daytime programming governor, has been elected vice chair. Brian Seth Hurst, former interactive media governor, has been named second vice chair, becoming ATAS' first officer from new media.

The board also re-elected officers for second terms: Sheila Manning from the commercials peer group as secretary; Donna Kanter from the writers peer group as treasurer; and KCOP/KTTV reporter Hal Eisner from the Los Angeles-area peer group as L.A.-area vice chair.

The new officers' terms begin in January.