ATAS panel picks Loesch and Schwartz


Children's television programming veteran Margaret A. Loesch and Teri Schwartz, dean of Loyola Marymount University School of Film and Television, have been named co-chairs of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation's education committee.

The education committee consists of ATAS volunteers who advise and guide the foundation staff responsible for administering its education programs developed for college and university students and faculty, including the College Internship Program, the College Television Awards, the Fred Rogers Memorial Scholarship, Journeys Below the Line, the Faculty Seminar and the Visiting Professionals Program.

"With (Loesch and Schwartz's) combined wealth of experiences, they will bring a valuable perspective to our ongoing efforts in supporting those who can benefit from our programs," foundation chairman Steve Mosko said.

Emmy winner Loesch is co-founder and co-CEO of family entertainment company the Hatchery Llc., which she launched in 2003 with Bruce Stein. She also has served as the first president and CEO of Crown Media and its Hallmark Channel; president of the Jim Henson Television Group Worldwide; founding president and CEO of Fox Kids Networks, Worldwide; and president and CEO of Marvel Prods., among other positions.

Schwartz, an award-winning producer, is the inaugural dean of LMU's School of Film and Television in Los Angeles. Her credits include "Sister Act," "Beaches," "Nuts," "The Out-of-Towners" and "Hope." In 1995, she partnered with Goldie Hawn to form Cherry Alley Prods., serving as president and producer.