ATAS picks Itkin to lead Hall panel


Mark Itkin, executive vp and worldwide co-head of television at WMA, has been named chairman of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

ATAS' Hall of Fame honors individuals or programs that have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of telecommunications. The most recent honorees were Tom Brokaw, James Burrows, Leonard Goldberg, Regis Philbin and William Shatner, who were inducted in June 2006.

"It's an honor to be able to head this committee — to be a part of the process and select the true Hall of Fame in our business for me is a real honor," Itkin said, adding that he will start putting together his committee and meeting to select the next group of inductees soon.

Itkin said an announcement on the next Hall of Fame selections likely would come sometime next year.

ATAS chairman and CEO Dick Askin praised Itkin.

"We are confident that he will do an excellent job in heading up this esteemed group," Askin said. "In this position, Mark will play an important role in preserving and honoring the rich history of the television industry."

Itkin succeeds Sam Haskell, former executive vp and worldwide head of television at WMA, as chairman of the committee.

ATAS Hall of Famers also include Tim Conway, Harvey Korman, Bob Mackie, Jean Stapleton, Bud Yorkin, Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Walter Cronkite, Walt Disney, Leonard H. Goldenson, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Edward R. Murrow, Gen. David Sarnoff, Barbara Walters, Angela Lansbury, Oprah Winfrey, Carl Reiner and Fred Rogers.