Aubrey Plaza to Host 2019 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Aubrey Plaza attends the 2018 MTV Movie And TV Awards - Getty - H 2018

The ceremony is set to air Feb. 23.

Film Independent on Tuesday announced that actress Aubrey Plaza will host the 2019 Film Independent Spirit Awards.

Plaza follows a line of past hosts, including Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, Kate McKinnon and Kumail Nanjiani, Fred Armisen and Kristen Bell, Patton Oswalt, Andy Samberg, Joel McHale and Sarah Silverman, among others.

"I am truly honored and delighted to host the Spirits Awards this year," the former Parks and Recreation star said in a statement. "It is a dream come true to host a show that celebrates my greatest loves...independent film, the people that make them possible and live television!"

Added Josh Welsh, Film Independent president, "The search for a great Spirit Awards host is never easy. This year we said, 'Let's find someone funny, smart, a cinephile, being a great actor wouldn't hurt, and it would be an added bonus if they've previously won a Spirit Award. Then we realized, oh wait, that's Aubrey Plaza!' So thank you Aubrey, for hosting the Spirits!"

Plaza — who currently stars on Noah Hawley's FX series Legion — starred opposite Elizabeth Olsen in Matt Spicer’s 2017 feature Ingrid Goes West, which Plaza also produced. As a producer, she received a Film Independent Spirit Award for best first feature and the film was also nominated for best first screenplay.

Molly Shannon and Crazy Rich Asians star Gemma Chan announced this year's nominees during a Nov. 16 press conference. Best feature nominees include Eighth Grade, First ReformedIf Beale Street Could Talk, Leave No Trace and You Were Never Really Here

The 2019 Film Independent Spirit Awards will broadcast live exclusively on IFC on Feb. 23, 2019.