Austin Film Festival Announces 2013 Winners

Competition victors were awarded alongside honorees Vince Gilligan, Jonathan Demme, Callie Khouri, Barry Josephson and Susan Sarandon.

The Austin Film Festival on Monday announced its 2013 Screenplay and Teleplay Competition winners, as well as the Jury Award Winners.

This year's honorees were recognized alongside Distinguished Awardees Vince Gilligan, Jonathan Demme, Callie Khouri, Barry Josephson and Susan Sarandon. See the complete list of winners below.

Celebrating its 20th anniversary this year, the Austin Film Fest runs from Oct. 24-31 in Austin, Texas. 

Screenplay and Teleplay winners:

Drama Screenplay Award presented by the Writers Guild of America, East:“Last Waltz of Vienna” by Brian Weakland

Comedy Screenplay Award: “Don’t Talk to Irene” by Pat Mills

Enderby Entertainment Award: “Hooking Up” by Jacqueline Fitzgerald

Darkwoods Productions Horror Award: “The Hitch” by Troy Miller

Dark Hero Studios Sci-Fi Award: “Lightspeed” by Brian Siegele

AMC One-Hour Teleplay Pilot: “Liberators” by Eric Haywood

Sitcom Teleplay Pilot: “I Love Monsters” by Julie Cross

One-Hour Teleplay Spec: Doctor Who: “Ghost Town” by Alyssa Weinberger

Sitcom Teleplay Spec: Girls: “Golden Birthday, Golden Showers” by Sarah Carbiener & Erica Rosbe

Jury Award Winners:

For features, the first ever Dark Matters Feature Jury Award was awarded to writer/director Darren Paul Fisher for his FILM OXV: THE MANUAL.

The Young Filmmakers Program Competition Grand Prize was awarded to Imogen Pohl, writer/producer of the short film HB.

The Narrative Student Short Jury Prize was awarded to Avram Dodson, the writer/director of PISTACHIO MILK.

The Documentary Shorts Jury Award was given to director Jenny van den Broeke for her film BLINDE LIEFDE (Blind Love).

The Jury Award for Animated Short, which makes the winning film eligible to be nominated for an academy award ™ was given to Erica Harrison, writer of A CAUTIONARY TALE.

The Narrative Short Jury Award, which also qualifies the short to be nominated for an academy award tm, was given to writer/director Cody Blue Snider.

The Documentary Feature Jury Award was bestowed upon director Christopher Englese, for his film POLITICAL BODIES.

The Narrative Feature Jury award was given to first time writer/director, Chris Lowell for his film BESIDE STILL WATERS.