Austin Film Festival Unveils Lineup, Including 'Dave Not Coming Back,' 'The Catch' (Exclusive)

Bill Hader, Alec Berg  Split _Power List - Getty - H 2019
Getty Images (2)

The annual writers conference includes virtual converations with 'Barry' creators Alec Berg and Bill Hader, 'Utopia' creator Gillian Flynn and John Logan, creator of 'Penny Dreadful.'

The 27th annual Austin Film Festival has revealed its 2020 virtual lineup, which includes the U.S. premiere of Jonah Malak's Dave Not Coming Back, and world bows for Paul Kowalski's Paper Tiger and Felipe Mucci's Two Deaths of Henry Baker, starring Gil Bellows and Tony Curran.

AFF's feature slate for the Oct. 22 to 29 event will have 22 world, North American and U.S. premieres, with first looks for Matthew Ya-Hsiung Balzer's The Catch; Aldo Miyashiro's Wake Show; Justin Etheredge's Good; Justin Corsbie's Hard Luck Love Song; and Will Bakke's The Get Together.

Austin, as it goes online for its 2020 edition during the coronavirus pandemic, also booked world premieres for Ivo Raza's Reboot Camp; Marshall Cook's Film Fest, starring Matt Cook and Will Sasso; Miguel Velez's Time For Love; Phil Wall's The Book Keepers; Matt Smukler's Wildflower; O'Neil Burgi's ALE; Anne Rapp's Horton Foote: The Road Home; and Cassie Hay and Amy Winston's Queens of Pain, about the Gotham Girls Roller Derby team.

Austin's Writers Conference, to run Oct. 22 to 26, plans virtual conversations with the director of Netflix’s The Old Guard and writer/director of Love & Basketball Gina Prince Bythewood; Barry creators Alec Berg and Bill Hader; Utopia creator Gillian Flynn; John Logan, creator of Penny Dreadful; and BlacKkKlansman co-writer Kevin Willmott.

And AFF plans virtual panels with appearances by Paul Feig, Prentice Penny, Scott Frank, Tracey Scott Wilson, Ed Solomon, Leslye Headland, Rolin Jones, and Emily V. Gordon.

Austin Film Festival’s 2020 slate:

Dave Not Coming Back
Director: Jonah Malak

Golden Arm
Writer: Ann Marie Allison, Jenna Milly
Director: Maureen Bharoocha

The Catch
Writer/Director: Matthew Ya-Hsiung Balzer

Paper Tiger
Writer/Director: Paul Kowalski

Wake Show
Writer: Aldo Miyashiro, Érika Villalobos, Abril Cárdenas
Director: Aldo Miyashiro

Writer: Philippe Dajoux, Rebecca Bitan
Director: Philippe Dajoux

Writer/Director: Justin Etheredge

The Badger
Writer/Director: Kazem Mollaie

Two Deaths of Henry Baker
Writer: Sebastian Pigott
Director: Felipe Mucci

Hard Luck Love Song
Writer: Craig Ugoretz, Justin Corsbie
Director: Justin Corsbie

Death of a Telemarketer
Writers/Director: Khaled Ridgeway

Reboot Camp
Writer/Director: Ivo Raza

Film Fest
Writer: Marshall Cook, Paul Alan Cope
Director: Marshall Cook

Writer/Director: Fernando González Gómez

Murder Bury Win
Writer/Director: Michael Lovan

Time for Love
Writer/Director: Miguel Velez

Writer: Tyler Savage, Dash Hawkins
Director: Tyler Savage

The Blue Orchid
Writer: Carl Marott, Hans Frederik Jacobsen
Director: Carl Marott

The Arbors
Writer: Clayton Witmer, Chelsey Cummings
Director: Clayton Witmer

The Eagle's Nest
Writer/Director: Olivier Assoua

Open Field
Director: Kathy Kuras

Re-Inventing The Wheel
Director: Chelsea McEvoy

The Book Keepers
Director: Phil Wall

Director: Shane Vermooten

Director: Matt Smukler

Director: Lucas Millard

ALE (Buergi)
Director: O'Neil Bürgi

The Get Together
Writer: Will Bakke, Michael B. Allen
Director: Will Bakke

Horton Foote: The Road To Home
Director: Anne Rapp

Fugitive Dreams
Writer: Jason Neulander, Caridad Svich
Director: Jason Neulander

Queens of Pain
Director: Cassie Hay, Amy Winston