Australian Directors Guild Awards: Kim Mordaunt Wins Top Honor for 'The Rocket'

"The Rocket"

Australia's film and TV directors celebrated their peers Friday at the annual awards ceremony held in Sydney, with Rowan Woods and Rachel Perkins winning the guild's top prizes for television direction.

Kim Mordaunt won the top prize at this year's Australian Directors Guild awards ceremony held in Sydney on Friday. Rowan Woods and Rachel Perkins, meanwhile, were named the top TV directors of the year down under. 

Mordaunt was honored for best direction in a feature film for his Lao-language film, The Rocket, one of Australia’s most critically celebrated films of the past year. Woods won best direction in a telemovie for ABCTV’s The Broken Shore, while Perkins won in the best TV drama series category for Redfern Now.

PHOTOS: 25 of the Most Anticipated Foreign Films of 2014

The ADG awards ceremony and dinner lauded the best work by directors in 16 categories, including film, television, multiplatform, music and advertising

“The winners include some of the industry’s most experienced directors, such as Ray Lawrence, Rowan Woods, Geoffrey Nottage and Rachel Perkins, but also reflect the incredible new talent rising through the ranks who are working across the various screen platforms,” ADG executive director Kingston Anderson said.

The Feature Documentary award was presented to Sophia Turkiewicz for Once My Mother. A festival circuit favorite, the film will be released theatrically in Australia in July.

Other TV directing awards included Khoa Do for best direction in a TV mini series for Better Man, while Geoffrey Nottage won best direction in a TV drama serial for Episode 5713 of Home and Away.

Daniel Nettheim received the Esben Storm Award for best direction in a children’s TV program for Dance Academy.

The award for best direction in a documentary series went to Nick Robinson for Kakadu, Episode 4; and the best direction in a documentary stand alone award was won by Corrie Chen for Suicide and Me.


 Matt Saville was the best TV comedy director for Josh ThomasPlease Like Me.

Jindabyne director, Ray Lawrence, who is helming his fourth feature, Rosa, this year, won best direction in a TV commercial for NSW Teachers Federation’s First Day.

Best direction in a short film was won by Julietta Boscolo for Sam’s Gold, while the cross platform project award was won by Michela Ledwidge for ACO Virtual and best direction in an online project by Sonny Vrebac for Hunter N Hornet (Appisode – Sunbathing).

Best direction in a music video was awarded to David Barker for Nightingale Floor and Melissa Anastasi received the best direction in a student film award for By This River.

Also announced at the ADG Awards was the 2014 recipient of the Finders Award – Catriona McKenzie for her film Satellite Boy.  The ADG, in partnership with the Directors Guild of America Finders series, selects one Australian feature film, which is yet to secure U.S. distribution and is an entry in the 2014 ADG Awards, to screen in Los Angeles and New York to key industry figures, including distributors.

And this year the ADG instituted a new Award for Innovation, which was won by Brisbane-based multi-platform content specialists Hoodlum, who have recently wrapped production on the pilot for ABC America’s version of their drama series Secrets & Lies.