Ava DuVernay to be Honored at Ms. Foundation's Gloria Awards

Christopher Polk/Getty Images
Ava DuVernay

Former 'Teen Vogue' Editor-in-Chief Elaine Welteroth also will be recognized at the 30th annual event designed to recognize leaders in gender justice and named for Gloria Steinem.

Ava DuVernay will be honored at the Ms. Foundation's 30th annual Gloria Awards in New York, it was announced Wednesday.

The Oscar-nominated Wrinkle in Time director will receive the Women of Vision Award, honoring feminist leaders who create positive change, at the event recognizing trailblazers for gender justice and named for Gloria Steinem.

Former Teen Vogue Editor-in-Chief Elaine Welteroth will also be honored, receiving the Marie C. Wilson Award, named after the Ms. Foundation's former president and CEO, which is designed to recognize young crusaders for gender justice.

The Ms. Foundation also will honor three leaders from grantee-partner organizations who have influenced the women's movement: Monica Simpson of SisterSong, Shannan Reaze of Atlanta Jobs With Justice and Joanne Smith of Girls for Gender Equity will be recognized for their work related to reproductive justice, economic justice and women’s safety, respectively.

“We are thrilled to announce the honorees for the 30th Annual Gloria Awards,” Ms. Foundation president and CEO Teresa C. Younger said in a statement. “Women of color are essential to our mission to advance equity and justice for all. It is fitting that this year’s honorees are a group of brilliant Black women whose innovation, leadership, and courage have moved this country closer to a just and inclusive democracy for all genders. Ms. DuVernay is an outspoken advocate whose work showcases strong, positive, and complex characters of color, and has pushed some of our most difficult political conversations into the forefront. As Conde Nast’s youngest-ever editor-in-chief, Ms. Welteroth brought informative, compelling, and inclusive content to women and girls around the country, and amplified the intersection of race and gender in order to advance the conversation of equity.”

The Ms. Foundation has invested more than $65 million to build grassroots movements to work for gender equality. Previous Gloria Awards honorees include Hillary Clinton, Sheila Nevins, Diane von Furstenberg and the Women's March co-chairs.

The 30th annual Gloria Awards: A Salute to Women of Vision are set for Thursday, May 3, in New York.