BAFTA Unveils 2014's Crop of "Breakthrough Brits"

Martin Berton/Eyevine
BAFTA chief executive Amanda Berry

Stars of 'Harry Potter' and 'Nymphomaniac' make the list of 18 from the film, TV and gaming industries

BAFTA celebrated the second edition of its annual endorsement of U.K. rising talent on Monday night, naming its "Breakthrough Brits" of 2014.

At a special reception held at Burberry’s flagship London store, 18 newcomers from the film, television and gaming industries were honored, as selected by a panel of experts.

The 18 names comprised actors Stacy Martin (Nymphomaniac), Katie Leung (who plays Cho Chang in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and other movies in the franchise) and Callum Turner (Ripper Street), directors Destiny Ekaragha (Gone Too Far) and Sarah Walker, producer-directors Mike Brett & Steve Jamison (Next Goal Wins), and Marc Williamson, producer AJ Riach, actor-producer Ray Panthaki (Kidulthood), writers Chris Lunt and Jonathan Asser (Starred Up), composer Tandis Jenhudson, presenter Ashley Kendall, game designer William Pugh, game developer Reece Millidge and games producers Charu Desodt (SingStar) and Daniel Gray (Fable II).

Read more BAFTA Names Emma Baehr Director of Awards

"Breakthrough Brits, launched last year in partnership with Burberry, is BAFTA’s flagship initiative to showcase and support new talent, allowing us to shine a spotlight on outstanding individuals across film, television and games," said BAFTA chief executive Amanda Berry at the event. "Our inaugural Breakthrough Brits have enjoyed a truly extraordinary year and now include multi-BAFTA and industry award winners and nominees, and across-the-board success stories."

Read more BAFTA Postpones Kevin Macdonald Event in Hong Kong Amid Protests

Aside from receiving an award, this year’s crop of Breakthrough Brits will also have the chance to enjoy mentoring and networking sessions with a lineup of U.K. figures, including Paul Greengrass and Simon Pegg.

"Over the next year, thanks to the outstanding support of our legacy mentors and partners, they will have the chance to meet with and learn from some of the most renowned names in the film, television and games industries," added Berry.

The jury for the Breakthrough Brits included Mike Newell, Richard Ayoade, Barbara Broccoli and Jack O’Connell.

Among the attendees at Monday night's event were film producers Duncan Kenworthy (Four Weddings and a Funeral, Notting Hill) and David Parfitt (Shakespeare in Love, My Week With Marilyn), director Newell (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Four Weddings and a Funeral), Christine Langan, the head of BBC Films, and actor Jamie Campbell Bower (The Twilight Saga, The Mortal Instruments).