Beijing Film Fest: Paolo and Vittorio Taviani’s 'Wondrous Boccaccio' to Open

Courtesy of Teodora Film
'Wondrous Boccaccio'

Competition films were selected from close to 1000 submissions from over 90 countries.

Paolo and Vittorio Taviani's Wondrous Boccaccio (Maraviglioso Boccaccio) will be the opening film in this year's Beijing International Film Festival, as organizers announced the 15 competition titles together with four gala premieres at this month's festival.

A total of 15 films are set to compete for the Tiantan awards including two Chinese films, Tsui Hark's The Taking of Tiger Mountain and Jean Jacques Annaud's Wolf Totem.

In addition to the two Chinese titles, films from 13 countries will take part, including Ramil Salakhutdinov's A White, White Night from Russia, Marie Kreutzer's second feature, Gruber Geht, Michele Placido's new film La Scelta, and MS Prakash Babu's Fig Fruit and The Wasps from India. Michael Almereyda's film Experimenter will open the competition section on Apr. 17.

The winners will be announced at the closing ceremony of the Beijing International Film Awards on Apr. 23. The festival itself kicks off on Apr. 16.

Also among the nominations are Sono Sion's Love & Peace, The Silence of Rio by Colombia's Carlos Tribiño Mamby, Impermanent by Iran's Amir Azizi, Sergey Mokritsky's Battle for Sevastopol and Jaro Vojtek's Children.

Also competing are Bernardo Arellano's The Beginning of Time, Carol Morley's The Falling and The Whistleblower by South Korea's Yim Soon-rye.

Organizers said the selection committee made its choices based on a pre-selection of foreign titles proposed by general advisor Marco Mueller, who was appointed at the beginning of February together with his team of consultants, coordinated by Chen Zhiheng.

"This line-up reflects the goals and commitments of BJIFF, to screen and celebrate world and international premieres of diverse, cutting edge international cinema," said Mueller.

The four gala screenings include the Taviani brothers' opener, Navdeep Singh’s NH10, with Indian superstar Anushka Sharma, Downshifter by Russian director Roman Prygunov and The Admiral by Dutch auteur Roel Reiné.

French director Luc Besson, riding high after the success of his sci-fi action-thriller Lucy in China last year, will chair the international jury.

The prize is handed out in 10 categories: best feature, director, actor, actress, supporting actor, supporting actress, screenplay, cinematography, music and visual effects.

This year's jury includes U.S screenwriter and filmmaker Robert Mark Kamen (The Karate Kid, The Transporter), Russian director Fedor Bondarchuk (The State Counsellor), Hong Kong director and producer Peter Ho-sun Chan (Dearest, American Dreams in China), South Korean director Kim Ki-duk (One on One), Brazilian producer, director and writer Fernando Meirelles (City of God, The Constant Gardener) and Chinese actress Zhou Xun (Suzhou River, The Message).