Beineix to head Pusan New Currents jury

'Old Boy' actor You Jitae signs on for short films

SEOUL -- French filmmaker Jean-Jacques Beineix will lead the jury for the New Currents Award, and actor You Jitae will oversee a separate judging panel for the Sonje Award during this year's Pusan International Film Festival.

Beineix ("Betty Blue") will team up with four other jury members -- Turkish director Yesim Ustaoglu ("Waiting for the Clouds"), Thai director Pen-ek Ratanaruang ("Fun Bar Karaoke"), Taiwan actress Terri Kwan ("Turn Left, Turn Right") and a Korean cinematographer Kim Hyungkoo ("Peppermint Candy") -- to select two winners of the festival's cash prize worth $30,000, given to Asian directors for their best new film.

The jury members for the newly-created Flash Forward Award include Marianne Slot, a producer of "The Idiots" and "Dancer in the Dark" and Alissa Simon, a programmer at the Palm Springs International Film Festival.

Separately, Pusan's Mecenat Award for Wide Angle, or best Asian documentaries and shorts with a cash prize of 10 million won ($8,010) for each winner, will be selected by Korean producer Ko Youngjae; Dorothee Wenner, a programmer for the International Forum of Berlin; and Jane Yu, a film critic and program director of the Taiwan International Documentary Festival.

Also for the section's short films, the Sonje Award will be decided by actor Jitae ("Old Boy"), Finnish independent documentary director Simojukka Ruippo and Malaysian director Chui Mui Tan.

The 14th Pusan International Film Festival starts Oct. 8.