Benedict Cumberbatch Joins British U.K. Rising Star Jury

FILM: Benedict Cumberbatch

Benedict Cumberbatch (UTA, the U.K.'s Conway van Gelder Grant), star of the BBC's "Sherlock," is joining "August: Osage County," The Weinstein Co.'s adaptation of the play. Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts also star.

The public chooses the winner of the honor, handed out during the British Academy Film Awards, based on nominations drawn up by jurors.

LONDON – This year's shortlist for the 2013 EE Rising Star award, voted on by the public and presented during next year's British Academy Film Awards, will be drawn up by a jury including Benedict Cumberbatch.

Cumberbatch, whose resume boasts turns in War Horse and TV's Sherlock,  joins a jury that includes Academy award winner Kevin Macdonald, casting director Nina Gold and is chaired by BAFTA's film committee deputy chairman Pippa Harris.

Now in its seventh year, the award aims to identify talent set for bigger things.

Previous recipients include James McAvoy in 2006, Eva Green in 2007, Shia LaBeouf in 2008, Noel Clarke in 2009, Kristen Stewart in 2010, Tom Hardy in 2011 and Adam Deacon this year.

The five nominees – the winner will be voted for in January by the British public -- will be announced on Jan. 7, 2013 with the nod dished out during the EE British Academy Film Awards on Feb. 10 2013.

Cumberbatch said: "This award recognizes the British public’s passion for film and more importantly gives a boost to up and coming talent, which is so important for cinema. It’s a great platform for young actors and actresses to shine and I’m thrilled to be on board."

The award was created in honor of Mary Selway, the BAFTA-winning casting director whose career spanned three decades and over ninety films before she died in 2004.

She worked with directors such as Steven Spielberg, Roman Polanski, Clint Eastwood and Ridley Scott.