Bening treads board as AMPAS governor


Annette Bening has become the new face on the board of governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The actresss — a three-time Oscar nominee for her performances in "The Grifters," "American Beauty" and "Being Julia" and who next stars as the gossipy Sylvia Fowler in "The Women" — has been elected as a governor of the actors branch.

As the Academy set about filling three-year terms in 14 of its 15 branches, it also welcomed back five filmmakers who served previous stints on the board but had been away for at least a year, and it re-elected eight incumbent governors.

Those returning to the board after a hiatus are Jeffrey Kurland, in the art directors branch; Martha Coolidge, directors; Arthur Hamilton, music; and Phil Robinson, writers. Don Hall was elected to the sound branch to fill the seat left vacant when J. Paul Huntsman died in February.

Incumbent governors re-elected to another term are Owen Roizman, cinematographers; Michael Apted, documentary; Robert Rehme, executives; Donn Cambern, film editors; Kathleen Kennedy, producers; Sid Ganis, public relations; John Lasseter, short films and feature animation; and Craig Barron, visual effects.

Ganis also serves as the Academy's president.

Fourteen of the Academy's 15 branches are represented by three governors who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Terms are staggered so that each branch elects or re-elects one governor each year. The makeup branch is represented by a single governor, currently Leonard Engelman, whose seat was not part of this election cycle. (partialdiff)