Benjamin Bratt named best actor at Imagen

Brother Peter's film 'La Mission' wins feature prize

It was a big day for the brothers Bratt at the 25th Annual Imagen Awards luncheon ceremony Sunday at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Filmmaker Peter, the recipient of this year's Norman Lear Writers Award, also nabbed the feature prize for his film "La Mission" (along with producer Alpita Patel), while the film's star, Benjamin, was deemed best lead actor for his portrayal of a father coming to terms with his son's homosexuality. Jeremy Ray Valdez, as the son, received the supporting actor prize.

Other film winners included Ana de la Reguera, named best actress for her role in Maya Entertainment's "Backyard"; Kenny Ortega, who received the director's prize for his Michael Jackson concert film "This Is It"; Dominik Garcia-Lorido, the supporting actress winner for her role opposite dad Andy Garcia in "City Island"; and "Taught to Hate," the recipient of the theatrical short prize.

In the television categories, CBS' "Cold Case" grabbed the best TV series prize while "Cold Case" actor Danny Pino and "Ugly Betty" star America Ferrera earned the actor and actress awards, respectively. "Southland" performer Kevin Alejandro and "Wizards of Waverly Place" star Maria Canals-Barrera took home supporting actor and actress accolades.

MTV's "Quiero Mi Boda" appropriated the best variety or reality show honors and Disney Channel's "Handy Manny" was named best children's programming. Other awards went to KABC's "Vista L.A." (local informational program), "CNN Presents: Latino in America" (national informational program), "Which Way Home" (documentary), "Ylse" (Internet program) and "Hispanic Heritage Month: Tito Puente" (on-air advertising).

Founded in 1985 by Helen Hernandez and Norman Lear, the Imagen Awards promote the positive portrayals of Latinos and Latino cultures in entertainment. Lear, as well as founding sponsors California Conference for Equality and Justice and the Southern California Gas Co., were given special recognition at the ceremony, sponsored this year by the Nielsen Co., the Walt Disney Co., Disney/ABC Television Group, Fox Television Stations, the Lear Family Foundation, Latino Public Broadcasting and CBS.