Bergen, Roddenberry to TV Hall of Fame

Inductees will be honored at a Jan. 20 ceremony

Candice Bergen, Charles Lisanby, Don Pardo, Gene Roddenberry, Tom and Dick Smothers and Bob Stewart have been selected as the next inductees into the Television Academy's Hall of Fame.

They will be honored at a Jan. 20 ceremony at the Beverly Hills Hotel.

"This year's inductees have challenged and shaped popular culture, changed television for the better and entertained us royally while doing so," TV Academy Chairman-CEO John Shaffner said.

The inductees were selected by a Hall of Fame selection committee from submissions from TV Academy members and industry representatives.

Top syndication and reality agent, WME partner Mark Itkin, chaired the committee, which included ABC TV Group president Anne Sweeney, Fox's president of alternative entertainment Mike Darnell, MTV, VH1, CMT and Logo president of programming Brian Graden, TV producer/director Lee Miller and production designer and president of the art directors guild Thomas Walsh.

"These individuals have each made extraordinary and lasting contributions that have meant so much to multiple generations of television viewers," Itkin said. "Their work will endure for decades to come."

Miller will produce the Hall of Fame Gala with Kevin Hamburger.
comments powered by Disqus