Berlin 2013: Oren Moverman, Lucy Walker, Taika Waititi on Best First Feature Jury

Berlin 2013 Poster p

Overall, 27 films from all the festival sections qualify for the award, which the jury will announce Feb. 16.

BERLIN -- Oscar-nominated filmmakers Oren Moverman, Lucy Walker and Taika Waititi will form the three-person jury that will decide the winner of the best first feature award at the upcoming Berlin International Film Festival.

The directing trio are Berlin regulars. Moverman's The Messenger won a Silver Bear in 2009 for best screenplay, which he shared with co-writer Alessandro Camon. The film later scored two  Oscar nominations, including best supporting actor for Woody Harrelson.

Walker's Oscar-nominated documentary Waste Land (2010) won the Panorama Audience Award in Berlin in 2010. New Zealand-born Waititi screened his short films Two Cars, One Night (2004) and Tama tu (2005) in Berlin's Panorama section, and his feature Boy won the Grand Prize of the Deutsche Kinderhilfswerk in Berlin in 2010.

The jury will select the best debut film from the 27 candidates screening across all sections of this year's Berlin festival, which runs Feb. 7-17 in the German capital. The winning feature will receive $66,000 (€50,000) in prize money, to be evenly split between the film's director and producer. The director also will win a high-end viewfinder.

Previous winners include Boudewijn Koole, who won last year for his children's drama Kauwboy; Danish director Pernille Fischer Christensen (A Soap); and Uruguayan director Adrian Biniez, who took the honor with his 2009 debut Gigante.

The winner of the 2013 Berlinale first feature award will be announced Feb. 16 as part of the festival's gala award ceremony.