Berlin Festival Unveils Competition Jury

Tom Tykwer

German Director Tom Tykwer heads up the six-person group that will select this year's Golden and Silver Bear winners.

The Berlin International Film Festival has unveiled this year's competition jury, the group of six men and women who will judge the features vying for this year's Golden and Silver Bears.

Moonlight producer Adele Romanski, Belgian actress Cecile de France (Hereafter, The Young Pope), Japanese composer Ryuichi Sakamoto (Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence), Time magazine film critic Stephanie Zacharek and Chema Prado, director of Spain's Filmoteca Espanola, will judge this year's Berlin competition titles.

The president of the 2018 Berlinale competition jury is German director Tom Tykwer (Run Lola Run, Cloud Atlas). Tykwer is a Berlinale regular and has twice opened the festival, with Heaven in 2002 and The International in 2009.

The six-person jury is equally balanced, gender-wise, with three men and three women, but it's also notable for its lack of big A-list names.

The 68th Berlinale, which is set to run Feb. 15-25, will kick off with the world premiere of Wes Anderson's Isle of Dogs, featuring the voice talents of Frances McDormand, Scarlett Johansson, Bryan Cranston and Bill Murray.