Berlin Festival Unveils Competition Jury

Berlin 2020 Jury
Courtesy of the Berlin Film Festival

‘The Artist' actress Bérénice Bejo and 'Manchester by the Sea' writer Kenneth Lonergan are among those joining jury president Jeremy Irons.

The 70th Berlin International Film Festival has unveiled the six film professionals — three men and three women — who will join jury president Jeremy Irons in picking this year's Gold and Silver Bear winners.

Oscar-nominated French actress Bérénice Bejo (The Artist) and Oscar-winning screenwriter Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester by the Sea) will judge the competition lineup, alongside Brazilian director Kleber Mendonça Filho (Bacurau, Aquarius) and Palestinian filmmaker Annemarie Jacir (Wajib, Salt of This Sea). Italian actor Luca Marinelli (Don't Be Bad, The Great Beauty) and German producer Bettina Brokemper, whose credits include Lars von Trier's Antichrist and The House That Jack Built, as well as the period drama Hannah Arendt and the 2010 Golden Bear-winning Honey, complete the seven-person jury. 

The Berlinale unveiled its competition lineup last week, with a selection of 18 features focused heavily on European and Asian art house titles. This year's event, which is set to run Feb. 20-March 1, will be the first under the new management of artistic director Carlo Chatrian and executive director Mariette Rissenbeek.

My Salinger Year, a literary drama from Canadian filmmaker Philippe Falardeau and starring Margaret Qualley and Sigourney Weaver, will open the festival, screening out of competition.