Berlinale First Feature jury named

Michael Verhoeven, Ben Foster, Lorna Tee form jury

COLOGNE, Germany -- German director Michael Verhoeven, American actor Ben Foster and Malaysian producer Lorna Tee will form the jury for the Best First Feature Award at the 2010 Berlin International Film Festival.

Verhoeven will be jury president. The director is a part of Berlin festival history. His anti-Vietnam war film "O.K.," led to the collapse of the 1970 Berlinale after jury president George Stevens called it an insult to America and demanded it be expelled from competition.

Foster was in Berlin just last year for Oren Moverman's competition entry "The Messenger." Tee, formerly a marketing and distribution exec at Focus Films Hong Kong, now runs her own production outfit, Paperheart, and Asian-based fund Irresistible Films.

The trio will judge debut features from Berlin's competition, Panorama and Generation sections. Berlin's Best First Feature Award comes with a €50,000 ($70,000) bursary, that is split between the director and producer of the winning film.