'Big Eyes,' 'Ed Wood' Writers to Receive Final Draft's Hall of Fame Award

Big Eyes Still - H 2014
Courtesy of The Weinstein Company

Big Eyes Still - H 2014

Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski are honored for their "profound influence on the industry"

Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski, the veteran writing team behind movies such as Ed Wood and the upcoming Big Eyes, have been named as Hall of Fame award honorees for the 10th annual Final Draft Awards.

The screenwriter-centric awards are organized by Final Draft, the company behind the ubiquitous screenwriting app program. They recognize influential talent via the Hall of Fame award, writers currently making an impact thorough the Screenwriters Choice awards and aspiring scribes via its Big Break contest. The Hall of Fame prize goes to those who have had a "profound influence on the industry," according to Final Draft.

Read more Reese Witherspoon, Amy Adams and Actress A-List on Nude Photo Hack, Renee Zellweger's "Cruel" Treatment, Hollywood's Female Problem

Alexander and Karaszewski first made their entry with the comedy Problem Child, but it was in the biopic field where they made their mark. They wrote Ed Wood, which was directed by Tim Burton and earned them a WGA nomination. They tackled Larry Flynt with The People vs. Larry Flynt and Andy Kaufman with Man on the Moon, the former winning them a Golden Globe.

The duo are also writing the upcoming FX miniseries American Crime Story: The People v. O.J. Simpson, and reteamed with Burton for Big Eyes, the story of painter Margaret Keane that stars Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz. The movie hits theaters this Christmas.

"Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski have taken biographical movies to new heights, whether through drama, comedy or a compelling mixture of both," said Final Draft CEO Marc Madnick. "Their collective body of work serves as an inspiration for all who pursue screenwriting as a profession, and their mentorship to aspiring writers supports the same mission as the Final Draft Awards."

Watch more Tim Burton and Christoph Waltz Talk 'Big Eyes' at London Screening

This is the first time a writing team has been named for the Hall of Fame award. Previous honorees include Nancy Meyers, Lawrence Kasdan, Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin, Robert Towne, Stephen J. Cannell, Oliver Stone, Syd Field and Sydney Pollack.

The ceremony will be hosted by Thomas Lennon and Robert Ben Garant (Night at the Museum, Reno 911!) on February 12 at a ceremony on the Paramount Pictures lot.