'Birdman' Leads Australian Academy's International Awards Nominations

Nicole Kidman and Geoffrey Rush will co-host the fourth annual awards at the G'Day USA Gala in L.A. on Jan. 31

Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu’s Birdman is leading the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) International Awards nominations with mentions in seven categories, ahead of Boyhood and The Imitation Game, which received five nominations each.

Awards organizers announced the nominations on Monday. In total, 14 films were nominated across seven categories — best film, best direction, best screenplay, best lead actor, best lead actress, best supporting actor and best supporting actress.

Read more Russell Crowe's 'Water Diviner' Is Top Homegrown Film of 2014 in Australia

The AACTA International Awards are held annually in Los Angeles and aim to recognize film excellence regardless of geography. The awards, now in their fourth year, are organized by the Australian Film Institute and coincide with the annual AACTA Awards in Australia.

The AACTA international chapter has more than 140 members, most of whom are also members of the U.S. Academy or BAFTA. This year's awards will be handed out at a ceremony in Los Angeles on Jan. 31 co-hosted by Nicole Kidman and Geoffrey Rush. The awards ceremony will, for the first time, be part of the annual trade mission G’Day USA’s gala ball.

Boyhood and The Imitation Game received five nominations each, including in the best film, best direction and best screenplay categories. Whiplash got four nominations, and The Grand Budapest Hotel rounded out the top-five-nominated films with three nominations.

"Nominations for the 4th AACTA International Awards again show consensus as well as some divergence among the Australian screen industry and our international peers regarding, which outstanding performers, productions and practitioners should be recognized at the highest level," said AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella. "The AACTA International Awards add an Australian voice to the global screen conversation, and allow us to honor the world’s best, including outstanding Australians working on international productions.”

Read more Netflix to Expand to Australia and New Zealand

Competition in the best lead actor category is fierce, with all five nominees — Steve Carell (Foxcatcher), Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game), Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler), Michael Keaton (Birdman) and Eddie Redmayne (The Theory Of Everything) — mirroring their nominations in the same category for the SAG Awards and Golden Globes.

In the best actress category, Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything) goes up against Julianne Moore (Still Alice), Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl) and Reese Witherspoon (Wild) alongside Australian actress Essie Davis for her performance in the Australian film The Babadook. Davis is also nominated for this performance at the 4th AACTA Awards in Australia, to be announced in Sydney in January.

Naomi Watts is the only other Australian to receive a nomination for this year's international awards. She was named in the best supporting actress category for her performance in Birdman.

Read more Australia's Ten Network Reviewing Several Takeover Bids
Here is the full list of AACTA International Award nominations:

AACTA International Best Film



The Grand Budapest Hotel

The Imitation Game



AACTA International Award for Best Direction

Birdman – Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu

Boyhood – Richard Linklater

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson

The Imitation Game – Morten Tyldum

Whiplash – Damien Chazelle


AACTA International Award for Best Screenplay

Birdman – Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Nicolas Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo

Boyhood – Richard Linklater

The Grand Budapest Hotel – Wes Anderson

The Imitation Game – Graham Moore

Whiplash – Damien Chazelle


AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actor

Steve Carell – Foxcatcher

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

Jake Gyllenhaal – Nightcrawler

Michael Keaton – Birdman

Eddie Redmayne – The Theory of Everything


AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress

Essie Davis – The Babdook

Felicity Jones – The Theory of Everything

Julianne Moore – Still Alice

Rosamund Pike – Gone Girl

Reese Witherspoon – Wild


AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actor

Ethan Hawke – Boyhood

Edward Norton – Birdman

Mark Ruffalo – Foxcatcher

Andy Serkis – Dawn Of The Planet of The Apes

J.K. Simmons – Whiplash


AACTA International Award for Best Supporting Actress

Patricia Arquette – Boyhood

Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game

Emma Stone – Birdman

Meryl Streep – Into The Woods

Naomi Watts – Birdman