'Birdman,' 'Into the Woods' Win at Costume Designers Guild Awards

Into the Woods Still 2 - H 2014
Peter Mountain

Into the Woods Still 2 - H 2014

The annual ceremony honored the industry's most talented costume designers on Tuesday evening.

Birdman, Into the Woods and The Grand Budapest Hotel were among the winners at this year's Costume Designers Guild Awards, held Tuesday evening at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

The ceremony, hosted by Emmy Rossum, honored costume designer Albert Wolsky for his work in Birdman, Colleen Atwood for Into the Woods and Milena Canonero for The Grand Budapest Hotel. Michele Clapton scored an award for her work in Game of Thrones in the period/fantasy television series category, while Jenny Eagan won for True Detective in the contemporary television series section. 

PHOTOS New York Fashion Week's Front Row

During the event, Naomi Watts was presented with the Lacoste Spotlight Award .  Boyhood writer-director Richard Linklater, costume designer Aggie Guerard Rodgers and designer and scholar Dr. Deborah Nadoolman Landis were also given honorary awards at the ceremony.

A complete list of nominees followers, with winners in bold. 

Excellence in Contemporary Film 

Birdman - Albert Wolsky (WINNER) 
Boyhood - Kari Perkins
Gone Girl - Trish Summerville
Interstellar - Mary Zophres
Wild - Melissa Bruning

Excellence in Period Film
The Grand Budapest Hotel - Milena Canonero (WINNER)
The Imitation Game - Sammy Sheldon Differ
Inherent Vice - Mark Bridges
Selma - Ruth E. Carter
The Theory of Everything - Steven Noble

Excellence in Fantasy Film
Into the Woods - Colleen Atwood (WINNER)
Guardians of the Galaxy - Alexandra Byrne
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies - Bob Buck, Lesley Burkes-Harding, Ann Maskrey
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part 1 - Kurt and Bart
Maleficent - Anna B. Sheppard, Jane Clive

Outstanding Contemporary Television Series
True Detective - Jenny Eagan (WINNER)
House of Cards - Johanna Argan
Ray Donovan - Christopher Lawrence
Saturday Night Live - Tom Broecker, Eric Justian
Scandal - Lyn Paolo

Outstanding Period/Fantasy Television Series
Game of Thrones - Michele Clapton (WINNER)
Boardwalk Empire - John Dunn
The Knick - Ellen Mirojnick
Mad Men - Janie Bryant
Masters of Sex - Ane Crabtree

Outstanding Made for Television Movie or Miniseries
American Horror Story: Freak Show - Lou Eyrich (WINNER)
Houdini - Birgit Hutter
The Normal Heart - Daniel Orlandi
Olive Kitteridge - Jenny Eagan
Sherlock - Sarah Arthur

Excellence in Commercial Costume Design
Army, “Defy Expectations, Villagers” - Christopher Lawrence (WINNER)
DirecTV, “Less Attractive” with Rob Lowe - Mindy Le Brock, Jessica Albertson
Dos Equis, “Most Interesting Man in the World Walks on Fire” - Julie Vogel
Kia Soul, Hamster Commercial Featuring “Animals” - Anette Cseri
Smirnoff, “The Mixologist” - Laura Jean Shannon