'Black Irish' best pic at Method Fest


Brad Gann's "Black Irish," starring Michael Angarano, Brendan Gleeson, Tom Guiry and Melissa Leo,  picked up the City of Calabasas Best Picture Award at the 9th annual Method Fest, which held its awards ceremony Thursday night at Viewpoint School's Carlson Family Theatre in Calibasas.

Angarano also won the Time Warner Cable John Garfierld Best Actor Award, while Scout Taylor-Compton took home the Charter Communications Geraldine Page Award for Best Actress for her role in "Tomorrow is Today."

"What defined this year's festival was the emergence of so many talented young actors and filmmakers," fest exec director Don Franken said.

The Daily Variety Award for Best Supporting Actress Award in a feature film went to Dagmara Dominczyk for the film "Mentor," and the Standard Pacific Homes Award for Best Supporting Actor went to "Black Irish's" Guiry.

The Christie Digital Audience Award for Best Picture was presented to "Destiny," directed by Vage Khacatryan, produced by Haig Bagerdjian and Kolya Khachaturov, and starring Gor Vardanyan, Yevgeni Kamash and Svetlana Jukova.

Jim Loftus, who directed "Trade Routes," was awarded the Modern VideoFilm Best Director Award.

The Daily News Best Screenplay Award winner was David Gow, for "Steel Toes," which Gow also co-directed.

Other winners included:

The Prudential California Realty Best Ensemble Cast Award -- the cast of "Man in the Chair," starring Christopher Plummer, M. Emmet Walsh and Robert Wagner.

The Corona Maverick Award for high quality in low budget filmmaking and unique vision -- "Plum Role," written and directed and helmed by Zak Hilditch.

The jetBlue Award for Best Short – "Across the Hall," directed by Alan Powell.

The International Bonded Couriers Award for Best Foreign Film – Jim Loftus' "Trade Routes."

The Screen Actors Guild Award for Best Actor in a Short -- Jai Koutrae, "Death's Requium."

The Wexler TV Award for Best Actress in a Short -- Sharon Lawrence, "Fool Me Once."

The Enterprise Rent-a Car-Award for Best Student Short -- "Deface," directed by John Arlotto.

The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Audience Award, Short Film – "Rushers," directed by Joey Boukadakis.

The LA Auto Gallery Ferrari Maserati Festival Director's Award for Excellence – "Man in the Chair," directed by Michael Schroeder.

Special Awards presented before and during the festival included the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to Christopher Plummer, and the Marverick Award, presented to Michael Madsen.