Bloomberg, Twitter to receive Mirror Awards

Newhouse School to hold fourth annual awards June 10

NEW YORK -- Syracuse University's S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications will honor Bloomberg and Twitter with its annual Mirror Awards this summer.

Bloomberg will receive the Fred Dressler Achievement Award, and Twitter will receive the i-3 award for impact, innovation and influence at the fourth annual awards luncheon ceremony here on June 10.

Paul Steiger, editor-in-chief of ProPublica, will present the Dressler Award to Matthew Winkler, editor-in-chief of Bloomberg News, and Norman Pearlstine, chief content officer for Bloomberg. "Good Morning America" anchor George Stephanopoulos will present the i-3 award to Twitter co-founder Biz Stone.

"While most media organizations have been announcing cuts and furloughs, Bloomberg continues to expand," said Joel Kaplan, the Newhouse School's associate dean for professional and graduate studies. "The company invests in quality journalism, and the results have been readily apparent."

Meanwhile, "Twitter has had a profound impact in its short life," said Brian Sheehan, associate professor of advertising at the Newhouse School. "Twitter has had global impact, simultaneously empowering individuals and threatening despots."
comments powered by Disqus