BMI Euro awards D.H.T. '06 Song of the Year


LONDON -- After tearing up the dance floor in 2005, "Listen to Your Heart" by the Belgian duo D.H.T featuring Edmee was named the 2006 Song of the Year at the BMI European Awards on Tuesday.

Singer-songwriter Ray Davies of the Kinks picked up the annual BMI Icon award for lifetime achievement at the event, which honors songwriters, composers and publishers represented by BMI's European partners.

Davies was co-founder and frontman of the Kinks, with classics including "You Really Got Me," "Waterloo Sunset," "Sunny Afternoon" and "Lola." His first solo album, titled "Other People's Lives," was released on the V2 label in February.

Davies said at an informal gathering Monday night that while he was proud to receive the BMI Icon award, he still thought of songwriting as a hobby. "It was something I did in the middle of the night because I had insomnia," Davies said. "Even last night, I was awake at 4 a.m. working on a song because I couldn't sleep."

He said he has completed seven songs for another solo album and plans to return to New Orleans, where he was shot by a mugger in January 2004, to continue a project with a local school's marching band that was interrupted by Hurricane Katrina.

The BMI awards were presented by the performing rights organization's president and CEO Del Bryant and senior vp Phil Graham during a banquet at the Dorchester Hotel.

Written by Per Gessle and Mats Persson and published by Jimmy Fun Music, "Listen to Your Heart" was a 1989 No. 1 hit for Roxette, and the current version has been a Top 10 hit in the U.S., a ringtone smash, and featured on TV shows from "All My Children" to "Will and Grace."

This year's Dance Award went to Cascada's global hit "Every Time We Touch," written by Stuart MacKillop, Maggie Reilly and Peter Risavy and published by Mambo/Sony/ATV Music Publishing Germany. "Feel Good Inc.," the Gorillaz' Grammy Award-winning single from the album "Demon Days," was named College Song of the Year. It was written by band members Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett with De La Soul's David Jolicoeur and published by EMI Music Publishing.

Perennial ballad "More," first heard played by Kai Winding as the theme to the 1962 documentary "Mondo Cane," topped the year's Million-Air Awards by passing the 7 million airplay mark. The song was written by Marcello Ciorciolini, Norman Newell, Nino Oliviero and Riz Ortolani, and published by Creazioni Artistiche Musicali.

The Drifters' "This Magic Moment" by Mort Shuman and Doc Pomas, and Shania Twain's self-penned "You're Still the One" reached 6 million, while Elton John's "Crocodile Rock" by John and Bernie Taupin; the Bee Gees "How Deep Is Your Love?" by Barry Gibb, Robin Gibb and Maurice Gibb; and the Zombies' "Time of the Season" by Rod Argent each hit 5 million.

Film Awards went to Rolfe Kent for "Failure to Launch" and "Wedding Crashers," David Arnold for "Four Brothers," Clint Mansell for "Sahara," Harry Gregson-Williams for "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe" and Henning Lohner and Martin Tillmann for "The Ring Two."

The Who's Pete Townshend picked up three TV Music Awards for his songs on the three "CSI: Crime Scene Investigation" franchise series. TV Awards also went to Carim Clasmann and Galia Durant for their song "Cosy in the Rocket," performed by Psapp as the theme tune to the series "Grey's Anatomy," and to Massive Attack's "Teardrop," the theme to "House M.D.," written by Robert Del Naja, Grantley Marshall and Andrew Vowles.