Bob Mackie to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award at CFDA Fashion Awards

Bob Mackie-Getty-H 2019
Walter McBride/Getty Images

The legendary fashion and costume designer will join names including Narciso Rodriguez, Vera Wang and Rick Owens, who have each been honored with the award in the past.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America on Thursday announced Bob Mackie as the recipient of the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2019 CFDA Fashion Awards, which will be held June 3 at New York's Brooklyn Museum.

Mackie, who has picked up nine Emmy Awards and three Academy Award nods over a career spanning 50 years, is being recognized for his contributions to American fashion and costume design.

The 80-year-old, who helped Cher solidify her status as a fashion icon by designing memorable looks such as her two-piece jewel encrusted 1973 Oscars look and, most recently, creating over 600 costumes for Broadway’s The Cher Showalso received a 2019 Tony Award nomination for best costume design in a musical.

Other stars who have turned to Mackie for his illustrious designs (which stem from his early days as a sketch artist for costume designers and also led to him crafting the wardrobes for hits such as The Carol Burnett Show) include Bette Midler, Liza Minnelli and Diana Ross.

Regarding the announcement, Steven Kolb, president and CEO of the CFDA, noted in a statement, "Bob Mackie is one of the most prolific designers of all time. He is a true artist and the ultimate showman."

In the past, the CFDA has bestowed the honor on designers including Narciso Rodriguez, Rick Owens, Norma Kamali, Betsey Johnson and Vera Wang. 

The non-profit trade organization, founded in 1962 (and currently helmed by fashion designer and film director Tom Ford), counts over 500 womenswear, menswear and accessories designers as members. Their annual awards ceremony is considered one of the most anticipated fashion events in the U.S.

The upcoming fete will also honor Jennifer Lopez, who is set to receive the Fashion Icon Award. Among the fashion designers up for awards are Virgil Abloh (who designs for his own label Off-White, as well as serving as director of menswear for Louis Vuitton); Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row; Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte; and Alexander McQueen’s creative director Sarah Burton.