Bon Iver, Arcade Fire Named Best of the Independents at Inaugural Libera Awards

Bon Iver album cover P

The "Libbies," as the newly-created celebration has been dubbed, honor the achievements of the independent music industry, including artists GIVERS and Amon Tobin and labels Glassnote and Beggars Banquet.

Bon Iver's self titled release took home the award for Independent Album of the Year (presented by and the Arcade Fire's Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)" won Independent Video of the Year at the first ever Libera Awards, capping off A2IM's seventh annual Indie Week with its first award show.

Funk/soul label Daptone Records and Bon Iver label Jagjaguwar split Label of the Year honors, with Daptone winning for five employees or fewer and Jagjaguwar taking home the prize for six or more employees. Glassnote Records also won an award for Best Sync Placement, which went to GIVERS' "Saw You First" synch during the Kindle Fire product launch.

VIDEO: Bon Iver 'Towers' Video Hits the Web

"Congratulations to all Libera Award nominees and awards winners," said A2IM vice president Jim Mahoney in a statement. "A2IM couldn't be prouder of the great accomplishments of independent labels and artists in every genre and we're very pleased that the A2IM Libbies allow the indie community to celebrate itself."

Seymour Stein was on hand to present the Lifetime Achievement Award to Beggars Group founder/CEO Martin Mills, who had flown back from the Senate hearings on Capitol Hill regarding the proposed EMI/Universal in time to accept his honor. Spotify took home the 21st Century Award, given to the service or platform most beneficial to indie labels and artists.

STORY: Spotify Developing Online Radio Service

eMusic sponsored the Up and Comer Award, which was split into two categories, with The Dø reeling in the A2IM members' vote, and JC Brooks and the Uptown Sound winning the eMusic member vote.

"We're excited to be able to give eMusic Members a voice through the Libbies. It's not surprising that JC Brooks and the Uptown Sound were the artists to win this award," eMusic editor-in-chief J. Edward Keyes said in a statement. "We've long been known for our active community of jazz fans and blues enthusiasts. While the competition was stiff, this group is truly an up and comer to be celebrated."

The full list of winners is below:

21st Century Award (celebrating the service or platform most beneficial to independent labels & artists): Spotify

Best Independent Sync Placement (the most creative or most impactful use of independent music in a film/tv/ad campaign): Glassnote Records (GIVERS' song "Saw You First" in Kindle Fire product launch)

Creative Packaging Award (celebrating the best or most creative packaging - including bundled packages, premium offerings or artwork/design packaging - from an independent label or artist): Ninja Tune for Amon Tobin (ISAM limited edition Control Over Nature CD/Book)

Independent Album of the Year presented by Bon Iver, Bon Iver (Jagjaguwar)

Independent Video of the Year: Arcade Fire's "Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)" (Merge Records)

Independent Label of the Year (5 full-time employees or fewer): Daptone Records

Independent Label of the Year (6 or more employees): Jagjaguwar

Lifetime Achievement Award: Martin Mills, Beggars Group Founder/CEO

Light Bulb Award for Most Creative Marketing Campaign/Idea: Epitaph/Anti- Records (Tom Waits Invite-Only Listening Party)

Music Supervisor (celebrating the music supervisor/licensing person who was especially supportive of independent music labels and artists): PJ Bloom (Neophonic)

Road Warrior of the Year (celebrating the independent label band/artist that was the most fan-engaged/worked hardest at their job in the last 12 months): Charles Bradley (Daptone Records)

Up & Comer Award presented by eMusic (celebrating the next independent label superstar artist): The Dø (Six Degrees Records) [A2IM member vote]; JC Brooks and the Uptown Sound (Bloodshot Records) [eMusic member vote]

Twitter: @billboardbiz