'Bourne' and 'Sweeney' make cut

American Cinema Editors honor drama, musical

Christopher Rouse and Chris Lebenzon took top honors at the 58th annual American Cinema Editors Eddie Awards on Sunday at the Beverly Hilton.

Rouse won the feature film drama category for editing "The Bourne Ultimatum," and Lebenzon won the feature musical or comedy competition for "Sweeney Todd."

Rouse also won the BAFTA Award for editing "Bourne," and he is an Academy Award nominee for the film, as well.

"Your work is extraordinary," Rouse told the other nominees. "I'm privileged to be in your company."

Following the ceremony, Rouse described the "Bourne" film as "smart and stylish, and (it) has some depth to it. I think that is what engages people."

Lebenzon accepted his trophy "on behalf of all of us who do this for a living. The sacrifices we make are something we all understand."

ACE president Alan Heim opened the show, and with a reference to the end of the WGA strike, said, "Now we can get back to doing what we do best — making the final rewrite."

At a ceremony hosted by Patton Oswalt, Academy Award-winning filmmaker Norman Jewison was honored with the ACE Golden Eddie Filmmaker of the Year award, presented by Carl Reiner. "Telling a story on film is what we share together," Jewison said. "We are a family — film artists coming together to create a piece of cinematic art. … It is a part of us. To inform the heart and reveal what it is to be human, that is the burden of film."

In the category for best edited documentary, Geoffrey Richman, Chris Seward and Dan Swietlik were honored for "Sicko."

In television, Steven Rasch's work on "Curb Your Enthusiasm" ("The Bat Mitzvah") was honored for a half-hour series; Sidney Wolinsky for "The Sopranos" ("Made in America") topped the category for one-hour series for non-commercial TV; Norman Buckley's work on the pilot episode of "Chuck" won best edited one-hour series for commercial TV; Tatiana S. Riegel and Leo Trombetta for "PU-239" won for editing of a miniseries or motion picture for non-commercial television; and Scott Vickrey and Robert Ferretti earned trophies for "The Company" ("Night 2") in the category for editing of a miniseries or motion picture for commercial television.

This year, ACE created a new category for best edited nonscripted/reality series, which went to Chuck Montgomery and Michael Glickman for editing "Cops" ("Country Love").

Millie Moore and Bud Smith were bestowed lifetime achievement awards.

Moore has been nominated for an Emmy three times: for "Cagney and Lacey" in 1982, "To Heal a Nation" in 1988 and "Geronimo" in 1994. Gil Cates awarded the honor.

William Friedkin presented the career achievement award to Smith, who is perhaps best known for helping to reinvigorate the horror genre with his Academy Award- and ACE Award-nominated work on "The Exorcist." His additional credits include "Flashdance."

Soogin Chung of the American Film Institute was named the winner of the ACE student editing competition.