'Breaking Bad' Wins Netflix Its First International BAFTA TV Award

"Breaking Bad"

This year is the first time web-based broadcasters were eligible to enter.

LONDON -- Crime drama Breaking Bad beat out Denmark's Borgen, Netflix's political drama House of Cards and French supernatural drama The Returned to win this year's Arqiva British Academy Television Award for best international program.

This year's awards, dished out by the British Academy of Film and Television Arts and regarded by the industry as the blue label TV nods, marked the first time web-based broadcasters were eligible to enter the race to the podium.

PHOTOS: 'Breaking Bad's' Most Badass Quotes

But despite Netflix's Kevin Spacey starrer House of Cards garnering a tilt at the international category, it was the Netflix-aired season finale of the Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul starrer Breaking Bad that secured the vote and got the accolade.

BAFTA's TV awards aim to reward "the very best in television broadcast on British screens over the past year."

The ceremony was held at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane in the British capital Sunday night.

Channel 4's Southcliffe and the broadcaster's comedy The IT Crowd turned nominations into prizes.

The BAFTA for leading actor went to first-time nominee Sean Harris for his performance as Stephen Morton in Southcliffe, the drama about a small town's shootings.

PHOTOS: What's Next for 'Breaking Bad's' Vince Gilligan

The IT Crowd was rewarded in both comedy performance categories, with Richard Ayoade and Katherine Parkinson winning their first BAFTAs for male and female performance in a comedy program, respectively.

ITV's Broadchurch was the big winner as it picked up three BAFTAs, including the leading actress award for Olivia Colman for her turn in the cop drama.

Cilla Black, the entertainer, actress and singer, received a special award for her 50-year contribution to British television entertainment.

The Fellowship, the highest accolade the academy dishes out, was presented to actress Julie Walters "in recognition of an exceptional contribution to television over 30 years and her ground-breaking work across a range of genres, from serious drama to comedy."

A full list of winners can be found at www.bafta.org