Brian Wilson back at Capitol for next album

Will release 'Lucky Old Sun' in September

NEW YORK -- After issuing his recent work on Rhino and Nonesuch, Beach Boys principal Brian Wilson has returned to Capitol Records for the release of his next album, "That Lucky Old Sun." The set is due Sept. 2.

"Sun," which centers on the Southern California of Wilson's youth, was premiered last September at London's Royal Festival Hall. The work comprises 11 new songs plus four spoken narratives written by longtime collaborator Van Dyke Parks and a vocal excerpt.

It's Wilson's first new studio album since 2004's "Gettin' in Over My Head." Also that year, he completed work on the long-unfinished album "Smile," originally intended for release by the Beach Boys in the mid-1960s.

Wilson has a handful of U.K. and North American tour dates on tap this summer, beginning June 28 in London and wrapping with a Sept. 12-14 stand at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles.

Here is the track list for "That Lucky Old Sun":

"That Lucky Old Sun"
"Morning Beat"
"That Lucky Old Sun" (narrative)
"Good Kind of Love"
"Forever My Surfer Girl"
"That Lucky Old Sun" (narrative)
"Live Let Live"
"Mexican Girl"
"That Lucky Old Sun" (narrative)
"California Role"
"That Lucky Old Sun" (narrative)
"Can't Wait Too Long" (vocal excerpt)
"Midnight's Another Day"
"Going Home"
"Southern California"