British ASCAP awards honor film, TV composers


LONDON -- Academy Award-winning composer Anne Dudley and nominated composers Patrick Doyle and Dario Marianelli were among the winners in the British 2007 ASCAP awards announced in London Wednesday evening.

The film and television music prizes were presented at the organization's annual banquet honoring members of Britain's Performing Rights Society for the most performed works in the U.S. in 2006.

Norwegian pop duo Tor Hermansen and Mikkel Eriksen (Stargate) were named songwriters of the year and their "So Sick" was named best song. EMI Music Publishing U.K. was named publisher of the year.

Speaking to The Hollywood Reporter ahead of the event, ASCAP senior vp international Roger Greenaway said: "It's safe to say that the performing rights end is not doing as bad as the record industry these days because we're about performances and they're about physical recordings, although we do feel their pain. We're not safe, but we're safer. In fact, we see a rise of 4%-5% over the next two or three years."

Greenaway said that film and TV music is thriving. "It's doing better than ever as there are more TV channels on cable and satellite. With more than 800 TV stations in the U.S., performing rights for film and TV music is really vibrant," he said.

In this year's film prizes, Dudley, who won the Oscar for "The Full Monty" in 1997, was honored for Kevin Reynolds' "Tristan + Isolde." Current projects include Paul Schrader's "The Walker" and Lynda La Plante's ongoing ITV miniseries "Trial & Retribution."

Doyle's ASCAP prize was for Stefan Fangmeier's 2006 fantasy "Eragon." Current projects from the veteran U.K. composer (Oscar-nominated for "Sense and Sensibility" and "Hamlet") include "The Last Legion" and "Sleuth."

Marianelli, who won for "V for Vendetta," was an Oscar nominee for "Pride & Prejudice" (2005) and might be in the running next time for the hit "Atonement." He also scored the current pictures, Neil Jordan's "The Brave One" and Asif Kapadia's "Far North."

Other film music honorees were John Taverner, who won for Alfonso Cuaron's "Children of Men." A legend in classical music, his rare movies include Carlos Reygadas' 2005 Argentine film "Battle in Heaven," which was In Competition at the Festival de Cannes in 2005 and won the critics' prize as best Latin American film at the 2005 Rio de Janeiro International Film Festival.

Alex Heffes won for Kevin Macdonald's "The Last King of Scotland." His credits include "Touching the Void" (2003) and "Dear Frankie" (2004) and he scored Macdonald's new documentary on Nazi Klaus Barbie, "My Enemy's Enemy."

And Erran Baron Cohen won for "Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan." Sacha Baron Cohen's brother wrote the music for the 2005 U.K. documentary BBC TV series "Serious Arctic."

The ASCAP television theme awards went to "American Idol," "Dancing with the Stars," "House" and "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?"

Songwriters Hermansen and Eriksen had seven of the most performed songs in 2006, including Ne-Yo's "So Sick" and "Sexy Love," Rihanna's "Unfaithful," Kelly Clarkson's "Walk Away," sand Beyonce's "Irreplaceable."

Their success went a long way to helping EMI land the publishing prize for the fourth time, as managing director Guy Moot emphasized. "For Stargate to pick up seven awards, including Songwriters of the Year is particularly pleasing in a year that has seen them make a huge breakthrough in the U.S.," Moot said. "With other wins for Yusuf Islam, Phil Collins, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Lenky, it's good to see the diversity and breadth of our catalogue being acknowledged."

The ASCAP event also featured a performance by Tony-winning composer and songwriter Charles Strouse, who turns 80 in 2008. Besides his musicals "Bye Birdie," "Applause" and "Annie," Strause composed the scores for movies such as "Bonnie & Clyde" and "The Night They Raided Minsky's." He also wrote the theme for TV's "All in the Family."

2007 ASCAP Awards

Honoring PRS writer and publisher members whose repertory is licensed by ASCAP and was among its most performed works in the United States in 2006.


Erran Baron Cohen, "Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan"

Patrick Doyle, "Eragon"

John Tavener, "Children of Men"

Alex Heffes, "The Last King of Scotland"

Anne Dudley, "Tristan And Isolde"

Dario Marianelli, "V For Vendetta"


Keith Strachan, Matthew Strachan, "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?" Publishers: Universal Music Publishing Group

Cathy Dennis, Julian Gingell, Barry Stone, "American Idol." Publishers: EMI Music Publishing, Universal Music Publishing Group

Elizabeth Fraser, "House." Publishers: Sony/ATV Music Publishing (UK) Limited

Dan McGrath, Josh Philips, "Dancing with the Stars." Publishers: BBC Worldwide Music/Universal Music Publishing Group


Songwriter of the Year: Tor Hermansen and Mikkel Eriksen (Stargate)

Publisher of the Year: EMI Music Publishing UK

Song of the Year: "So Sick," Ne-Yo. Writers: Tor Hermansen and Mikkel Eriksen. Publishers: EMI Music Publishing, SONY/ATV Music Publishing (UK) Limited

College Award: "Hats off to the Buskers," The View. Writers: Kyle Falconer, Kieren Webster. Publisher: Universal Music Publishing Group

Vanguard Award: "Fur And Gold," Bat For Lashes. Writer: Natasha Khan. Publisher: Chrysalis Music Ltd