Buenos Aires Film Fest Announces Full Lineup


The 16th edition of BAFICI will include a sports-related sidebar and a strong presence of Israeli cinema.

MIAMI – The Buenos Aires Independent Film Festival (BAFICI) announced its full line-up Thursday in a conference lead by fest director Marcelo Panozzo and the Buenos Aires minister of culture Hernan Lombardi at the Recoleta Cultural Center, the BAFICI’s headquarters.

The line-up features more than 400 films, including 116 local films and shorts, a sample of the sprawling Argentine production. The program consists on 4 official competitions (International, Argentine, Avant-Garde and Genre, and Short Films), Little Bafici (animated films), a general Panorama section, and several retrospectives and focuses. 

STORY: 4 Hot Filming Locations in Latin America

On the year of the World Cup, BAFICI brought back a boosted-up version of its sports-related sidebar Sportivo Bafici, which screens 26 films, including a small focus on filmmaker Jorgen Leth.

Championed by a full retrospective of Uri Zohar’s films and the choice of Ari Folman’s sci-fi animated fantasy The Congress as the fest’s Opening Film, Israel will be this year’s “guest country”.

Other focuses and retrospectives include films by Cao Guimarães, Robert Fenz, Carlos Schlieper, Frank Henenlotter, Jean-Stephane Brön, Rafael Filipelli, and Rita Azevedo Gomes, Michaela Grill, and the UK record label/production company WARP.  

Full list of Competition Films:

International Competition

Some Girls. Director: Santiago Palavecino (Argentina)
La Salada. Director: Juan Martín Hsu (Argentina)
Mauro. Director: Hernán Rosselli (Argentina)
Ice Poison. Director: Midi Z (Birmania / Taiwan)
Castanha. Director: Davi Pretto (Brazil)
Sarah préfère la course. Director: Chloé Robichaud (Canada)
Naomi Campbel – It’s Not Easy To Become a Different Person. Director: Nicolás Videla and Camila Donoso (Chile)
Kite Adrift. Director: Diego Ayala and Aníbal Jofré (Chile)
Carlitos. Director: José Antonio Guayasamín (Ecuador)
The Future. Director: Luis López Carrasco (Spain)
Fifi Howls from Happiness. Director: Mitra Farahani (US/ France)
The Wait. Director: M. Blash (US)
Grand Central. Director: Rebecca Zlotowski (France / Austria)
Iranian. Director: Mehran Tamadon (France / Switzerland)
A Castle in Italy. Director: Valeria Bruni Tedeschi (France)
El mudo. Director: Daniel Vega and Diego Vega (Peru / Mexico / France)
20,000 Days on Earth. Director: Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard (UK)
Mary Is Happy, Mary Is Happy. Director: Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit (Thailand)
Jury members: Eduardo Antin (Quintín), Serge Bozon, Nadav Lapid, Ilda Santiago, and David Zellner.

Argentine Competition:

13 Doors. Director: David Rubio (Argentina / Ecuador)
Atlántida. Director: Inés María Barrionuevo (Argentina)
Carta a un padre. Director: Edgardo Cozarinsky (Argentina / France)
Natural Sciences. Director: Matías Lucchesi (Argentina)
The Gold Bug. Director: Alejo Moguillansky and Fia-Stina Sandlund (Argentina / Sweden / Denmark)
History of Fear. Director: Benjamín Naishtat (Argentina / Uruguay / France / Germany / Qatar)
About 12. Director: Martín Shanly (Argentina / Austria)
While I’m Singing. Director: Julián Montero Ciancio (Argentina)
Nechrofobia in 3D. Director: Daniel de la Vega (Argentina)
Réimon. Director: Rodrigo Moreno (Argentina)
The Face. Director: Gustavo Fontán (Argentina)
It’s Alright If I’m Lost. Director: Santiago Loza (Argentina)
Three D. Director: Rosendo Ruiz (Argentina)
The Last Summer. Director: Leandro Naranjo (Argentina)
Korean Song. Director: Gustavo Tarrío and Yael Tujsnaider (Argentina)
Jury members: Ignacio Agüero, Cao Guimarães, Paolo Moretti, Martin Pawley, and Alesia Weston.

Avant-Garde and Genre Competition

Living Stars. Director: Gastón Duprat and Mariano Cohn (Argentina)
Creme 21. Director: Eve Heller (Austria / USA)
Trespass. Director: Paul Wenninger (Austria)
The Joycean Society. Director: Dora García (Belgium)
São Silvestre. Director: Lina Chamie (Brazil)
La última película. Director: Raya Martin and Mark Peranson (Canada / México / Philipines / Denmark)
The Island. Director: Dominga Sotomayor and Katarzyna Klimkiewicz (Chile / Poland)
Coast of Death. Director: Lois Patiño (Spain)
People in Places. Director: Juan Cavestany (Spain)
G/R/E/A/S/E. Director: Antoni Pinent (Spain / Switzerland / Germany)
A Million Miles Away. Director: Jennifer Reeder (USA)
Coherence. Director: James Ward Byrkit (USA)
Manakamana. Director: Stephanie Spray and Pacho Velez (USA / Nepal)
The Sacrament. Director: Ti West (USA)
Sequence. Director: Carles Torrens (USA / Spain)
Upstream Color. Director: Shane Carruth (USA)
Here Come the Problems. Director: Fanta Ananas (Ethiopia / Spain)
Alan Vega, Just a Million Dreams. Director: Marie Losier (France / USA)
The Rendez-Vous of Déjà Vu. Director: Antonin Peretjatko (France)
Journey to the West. Director: Tsai Ming Liang (France / Taiwan)
Tonight and the People. Director: Neïl Beloufa (France)
Wrong Cops. Director: Quentin Dupieux (France)
Big Bad Wolves. Director: Navot Papushado (Israel)
Fernando Who Received a Bird from the Sea. Director: Felipe Bragança (Portugal / Brazil)
Redemption. Director: Miguel Gomes (Portugal / France / Germany / Italy)
It for Others. Director: Duncan Campbell (UK)
iNumber Number. Director: Donovan Marsh (South Africa)

Jury members: Claudio Caldini, Michaela Grill, Marialy Rivas.